Current | Archives | Profile | | | Email | Just who the hell are you? Please sign guestbook. | Insightful Comments To Me | Host | Image | Design

Independence Day
07-04-05, 10:35 PM

Stripped away is everything. As best I can, I�m making a clean break but, no matter how clean the break, the scars will remain. They always do. Years later, when I reflect upon this time and recall that I had to make a tough decision, I hope the future �me� recognizes that if I didn�t leave, I would not have been living my life and discovering my happiness and disappointments. All relationships are difficult with expectations but the question became, �Just whose expectations are you meeting - yours or someone else's?�

The past thirty days, I commenced the process by preparing for my departure. Yes, there is the obvious tasks to accomplish such as: prepare the house to sell; box belongings; complete projects at work and avoid additional tasks; fix the car; and, donate old clothes to Good Will. The difficult task was breaking the news to family and the few, local friends that I have. As expected, my family didn�t take it to well but they understood after some heartfelt and emotional discussions. Yet, even after acceptance, the other day I was still asked, �Are you really selling your house?� as to imply a hint of doubt. The �For Sale� sign resting against my garage door provided the answer.

Yes, other�s disappointment slaps me on the face but I have another cheek that has yet to be hit. Someday soon, I expect the blow to come and I will feel the pain but I will never return the strike. My disappointment is best swallowed.

My two and half years in Kentucky is soon to end and a life chapter that I rather keep tucked away until a wiser, vodka lemonade drinking, rocking chair day seeks recollection. Hence, I literally closed this chapter in my life by archiving my year of entries and saved them to a cd. From this day forth, on the Fourth with all (cheesy) symbolism and puns intended, this is my Independence Day.

Yesterday - Tomorrow

Here we go again... - 10-06-10
fuck you. - 07-02-08
A new blog - 04-13-08
New site: The Running Bob - 03-16-08
Tax Man Encourages Hobbies? - 03-11-08
,050704_66.html,Independence Day,07-04-05>
Recent '06-'07 Entrees
July 05 to July 06