Current | Archives | Profile | | | Email | Just who the hell are you? Please sign guestbook. | Insightful Comments To Me | Host | Image | Design

Dumbing Down
07-08-05, 1:36 PM

Two months ago, I interviewed for a job in Florida that I thought would be a great match in terms of job duties and my skills that I could offer. Without a doubt, I walked away with a positive attitude from the interview as the Senior Vice President said that I was one of two candidates that they were inviting back for a second interview. Of course, I followed proper business etiquette with thank you letters and voice mails expressing interest. Furthermore, I kept abreast of the company�s annual stockholder's meeting where the company President conveyed nearly same ideal development for resort communities that I spoke of during my interview - - something I know which is unique to industry as newspapers picked-up upon the idea and coined a phrase. Christ, it felt as if the President was sitting-in my interview and used the same descriptions. Hence, I felt encouraged about my chances.

Since two months have passed, I have given-up hope until I found an identical job title and description posted upon XYZbuilder. In fact, I suspected so much so that I pulled the file and the description had the same typos and mistakes. Therefore, I applied. Last week, I received a response from what appears to be a third-party Recruiter who requested I call her immediately about my "...extremely impressive resume..." I waited a few days then emailed her asking if it were XYZ Company. It was and inquired if I had spoken to them already.

In my response, I relayed some of the above, including I was disappointed that they never returned any of my attempted correspondences. I also left a door open if she still wanted to talk that I would be available.

Early in the week, Carol and I discussed job hunting and the lessons we learned that those who interview and wait months before hiring probably do not know exactly what they are looking for in an employee. Our anecdotal evidence is that we each accepted job offers months after the interview and each were later unhappy in those positions. During our conversation, we agreed to remind each other of our bad experiences if this type of situation should ever arise again. This situation most likely will fall into this category but I am extremely curious as to what happened or why a courtesy �ding� letter wasn�t mailed.

This weekend is my sister-in-law's fortieth birthday and I have no clue as to whether or not there will be a celebration. Likewise, no phone call from any of my family members.

After scanning the net for instructions, my brother and I were standing in his driveway huddled over a small table with 3/8� surgical tubes, zip ties, eight-ounce syringes, ball bearings, rubbing alcohol, smaller plastic tubes and bucket full of washable, non toxic paint. For three hours, we performed methodical surgery with my brother barking orders, �Clamp!�
I followed with the hemostat.
�Syringe! Tie off!�

In our late thirties here we stood, preparing our munitions arsenal for paintball games on Saturday morning against his son�s fourteen friends who are the ages between 13 and 14. We took liberty in design modifications in making our paintball grenades that in theory act as giant, water balloons that are pressurized by the surgical tubes elasticity. My brother remarked, �Just think, about two and half hours ago I was piloting a multi-million dollar 767 and now I�m making paintball grenades.�

�Yea, now you�re dumbing down.� I quickly injected because it seemed as if we were still between the ages of 8 and 10 playing guns in the backyard. We look much older but the little kid mentality never was lost. Even our language changed to one of sound effects and physical actions followed by laughter because we could each envision what the other was trying to communicate. On second thought, it must have been the beer!

Yesterday - Tomorrow

Here we go again... - 10-06-10
fuck you. - 07-02-08
A new blog - 04-13-08
New site: The Running Bob - 03-16-08
Tax Man Encourages Hobbies? - 03-11-08
,050708_9.html,Dumbing Down,07-08-05>
Recent '06-'07 Entrees
July 05 to July 06