Current | Archives | Profile | | | Email | Just who the hell are you? Please sign guestbook. | Insightful Comments To Me | Host | Image | Design

Mr. Toad�s sedate stroll
08-01-05, 12:59 PM

Mr. Toad�s sedate stroll describes my uneventful week-end. At the last minute on Friday afternoon, I decided to meet co-workers at Wet Willy�s but did not get the message they all changed their minds. So, for two hours I sat drinking three beers from other parts of the world -- a Great Lakes Brew, a Scottish Ale and the third I can�t remember because I was buzzed. However, I did earn three punch holes on of a card containing sixty-four beers of the world. I did meet a woman in her fifties and talked about the changes affecting the city and my role in government but who wants to talk about work on the their time off? Not me! After finally getting a hold of a co-worker on the cell, he tells me they decided not to go after all and went to a different bar miles away

Reluctantly, I drove to the next bar and after two beers was ready to leave because the crowd was in the fifties to seventies. The Yacht Club bar is not a club, nor private, but sits next to a marina along the Ohio River. If there was at least one single woman close to my age, I may have stayed but why bother? Next, we hit the local bar down the street from my house but even that was desolate. Around nine-thirty or ten, White Castles sounded tempting, even though I don�t like White Castles, yet found myself ordering a 10 pack at the drive through. I suppose White Castles was comfort food that reminded me of times during my college years where, when drunk/high, we would set off to find White Castles but never truly knowing where it was. Only by luck, would our car find its way.

Having grown a tolerance for White Castles, my stomach absorbed the greasy onion like burgers. No problems on my part but the next morning my dogs felt the effects of �sliders�. Saturday, I wanted to be left alone. So, I didn�t answer the phone and watched movies all day and for the life of me couldn�t recall what I watched except for �Runaway Jury�, a surprisingly good movie.

Earlier on Friday, a friend emailed that his dog passed which saddened me because I saw how he reacted when he learned that his dog may have cancer. Luckily, the dog didn�t and lived a couple of more years. What a great dog she was. One night, I kidnapped the dog and took her to a Halloween party where we dressed her in lingerie and took photos of her with two painted faced grimacing wrestlers in tights. I held the dog for ransom. Just plain stupid fun.

Sunday, I helped my mom prepare for an open house as they are trying to sell their house. From 12:30 to 4:30, I drove them around looking at other homes while theirs was being shown to the public. The problem lies in that my dad is confined to a wheel chair and must be left in the car as I run through homes to see if it could be handicap accessible. Then, I try to describe the home to him back in the car. His mind isn�t really altogether and gets hung-up in mind numbing details. I could describe a kitchen but then would want to know why they use �granite� as a counter top. Where does granite come from?

Tired of viewing homes, I took them for an Italian spaghetti dinner where I believed a quiet Sunday dinner would be the end for a nice day. Similar to last time, roughly 7 months ago and sitting at the very same table, d�j� vu occurred. He ordered a glass of wine that he shouldn�t. Then, when the waiter came back and offered another, he took it despite our request that he didn�t serve him. Rather than cause a scene that my father commenced, we allowed him to drink the second glass. Sure enough, the wine affected him and he could not lift himself out of the wheelchair and into the car. Hence, I had to hoist a 190 pound-some into the front seat is no easy task when you are lifting dead weight. I think my adrenalin from my anger assisted me in this lift and I�m sure the hostess viewing me through the window did not understand the situation that caused this problem. It may have looked as if a young guy is manhandling his aging parent, but I had no choice because if he were to fall to the asphalt, there would be no way I could pick him up. I dropped them off and was drained from a non-event week-end.

Yesterday - Tomorrow

Here we go again... - 10-06-10
fuck you. - 07-02-08
A new blog - 04-13-08
New site: The Running Bob - 03-16-08
Tax Man Encourages Hobbies? - 03-11-08
,050801_88.html,Mr. Toad�s sedate stroll,08-01-05>
Recent '06-'07 Entrees
July 05 to July 06