Current | Archives | Profile | | | Email | Just who the hell are you? Please sign guestbook. | Insightful Comments To Me | Host | Image | Design

Finding Your Niche
08-03-05, 3:49 PM

Happy! Ecstatic! Elated! Pumped! Bouncing! -- are words to describe my emotions after receiving an email invitation to interview with a land development company for a project in Tennessee�s Smokey Mountains. Due to my past experience in the Colorado mountains, my confidence level is high because I am more in-tune with this particular development, mountain estate and recreation development, than say your typical subdivision tract home or urban development. I hope to be turning a corner in finding a position and place to live that I truly love.

Although I thought my transition back to urban/suburban living would be easy, I found that I became very accustomed to the conveniences of small town living such as walking or riding a bike to work; the camaraderie found in a local bar; and, knowing and recognizing people throughout a small town. I also enjoy the ever-changing population shifts found in resort towns that brings new people into town daily. Also, I miss the easy access to recreational opportunities and running into wild-life outside your door. Overlooked on my part was the freedom of having my dogs off a leash for long walks, jogs and bike rides as well as a trail-head at my doorstep. Lastly, I miss the remoteness of the area that doesn�t have to cope with so-called �real world� problems. To me, these small conveniences or attributes associated with rural recreation living is what I consider �living a life�.

Personally, the challenge of moving to Kentucky for less money; starting-over on the bottom rung; budgeting to the last penny; the dreaded commute; trying to make new friendships; new relationships; and finding one�s place and personal connection in a new, large community quickly wore thin. There is something to be said in finding comfort in your surroundings.

Yesterday - Tomorrow

Here we go again... - 10-06-10
fuck you. - 07-02-08
A new blog - 04-13-08
New site: The Running Bob - 03-16-08
Tax Man Encourages Hobbies? - 03-11-08
,050803_19.html,Finding Your Niche,08-03-05>
Recent '06-'07 Entrees
July 05 to July 06