Current | Archives | Profile | | | Email | Just who the hell are you? Please sign guestbook. | Insightful Comments To Me | Host | Image | Design

Don't play on a school night
09-28-05, 8:56 PM

A date for sushi turned into a night at home on enclosed, screen porch sitting on the
�Dog�s couch� and learning more about each other. When she arrived in a white spaghetti string top with a pink heavier, not quite a sweater but heavier layered shirt and jeans, the attraction continued from Saturday night and I had yet to smell her perfume. I saw her VW pull into the drive but continued to wash and place grapes upon a plate just so I could hear a knock on the front door, turn to see who was there and then have a big smile upon my face. �How long can I wash these grapes?� I thought as I waited to hear the knock. Finally!

Opening the front door, she passed me. I melted. Trying to remain cool and collected, I gave a very short tour my house. Since there we have a small common interest of remodeling homes, I provided a snippet of my projects all the while looking for signs of ill at ease, a crinkle nose or a nod of approval. She was a tough read. In dating, the first showing of home to a new potential mate has a lot of impact upon whether the relationship will move forward or become a reason for rejection. Not wanting to be rejected, little did she know in preparing for her arrival, all day Saturday I cleaned the house from top to bottom and played hooky from work for a quarter of the day yesterday to buy wine, cheese, fruit and, of course, a final run through the house with a vacuum cleaner once more.

�What you like to do? Have a drink or two before going to dinner or go to dinner then come back sit on the porch for a little while?�

�If you have some white wine, why don�t we stay. It looks as though you have enough food.�

�Great! I have a bottle Pinto Grigio that goes great with a sliced green apple, grapes, cheese and crackers.�

I thought we could sit on the front porch and watch the neigborhood pass us by but she chose the back porch where a fence protected us the neighbors. Lucky for me, the night before I washed the couch�s slip covers, otherwise it would have smelled of dogs and be covered with dog hair. Yes, I was preparing my nest. It was obvious to me I wanted to impress her and not scare her off with a typical bachelor�s house, otherwise called a garbage dump.

When she immediately removed her shoes, and curled her legs amd bare feet back to her side, I found this sexy. One bottle turned into two. Cheese, grapes and a sliced, green apple became dinner. Simple and romantic. I�m still too reserved and am seeking a comfort level in this new relationship because occasionally during our conversation, she would touch me on the arm and I didn�t return the touch or was slightly rigid. In spite of my concerted effort to open up on first and second dates, I still don�t want to reveal too much. However, I�m becoming very comfortable with her and realized this as we began to kiss and eventually take full use of the couch. Although there were times when I wanted to move this phase much faster, the thrill in the exploration and testing boundaries adds to the chase. By 3:30 a.m., I�d asked her to spend the night, and even offered pajamas to make her comfortable and not threatened, but she eventually decided to leave.

With only three hours of sleep, work was painful to keep my eyes open. The coffee wasn�t working either. In fact, I don�t know how I�m writing this. I even didn�t go for my nightly run. I�m exhausted. Who thought dating could be so tiring? Recall how mothers once warned their children not play on a school night? For this precise reason, I now know... but the playing was well worth it!

Yesterday - Tomorrow

Here we go again... - 10-06-10
fuck you. - 07-02-08
A new blog - 04-13-08
New site: The Running Bob - 03-16-08
Tax Man Encourages Hobbies? - 03-11-08
,050928_88.html,Don't play on a school night,09-28-05>
Recent '06-'07 Entrees
July 05 to July 06