Current | Archives | Profile | | | Email | Just who the hell are you? Please sign guestbook. | Insightful Comments To Me | Host | Image | Design

Sudden Impulse to Travel
10-08-05, 9:59 AM

4:00 a.m. Saturday morning, I�m awake with anticipation of my early morning run. Oddly enough at 8:56 a.m., I have not yet dressed in my cool weather running gear. For nearly two hours stretched-out in bed, the muscular tension in my legs, not yet recovered from last night�s pace run, was not painful but rather a pleasant feeling as if the cells torn apart are rejuvenating. Although my legs aren�t quite solid from constant training as years before, I can feel the power returning.

My thoughts turned to the new woman I�m dating, as the term �girlfriend� cannot be applied just yet. Once again the opportunity to survey her body with my hands arose and found myself running my hands down her toned thighs to her shapely calves, thin ankles and inner arch of her foot. We�re gaining a quick understanding of each other�s priorities and readily accept when one has to postpone a date because it may interfere with a training run. The other night as I surveyed her body with my hands, she said something that 99% of the women would never say, �I really need to bulk-up my thighs.� I bursted out laughing but understood.

My reminiscent of the previous night was interrupted by my dog jumping upon my bed for me to pat him on the head, which I did for about five minutes, when his constant chewing finally gained my attention. In his mouth, was a dead chipmunk with his hind legs and tail sticking out of his grinning mouth. My dog was cat in a former life.

Clenching the booty in his mouth, I chased the him out the dog doors to the back yard when a sudden impulse to travel struck me. Recalling an internet special of $29 one-way fares to Chicago and I still possessed $238 in air fare credits that were soon to expire, I thought a one day trip to Chicago would be a �great date� surprise in addition to secretly celebrating my birthday.

I hope to appeal to her adventerous side as well as her artistic background with a quick stop the art museum, a Bloody Mary at a sports bar during the Bears game, places I worked and went to school, shopping and a dinner at one of my favorite restaurants � they�re all good in Chicago. Although the pace will be fast, almost a whirlwind, nothing will be planned except where our moods move us.

In four weeks, we arrive at 9:10 a.m. and return by 10:45 p.m, hopefully with a good story and a shared event that bonds us a little more together.

Yesterday - Tomorrow

Here we go again... - 10-06-10
fuck you. - 07-02-08
A new blog - 04-13-08
New site: The Running Bob - 03-16-08
Tax Man Encourages Hobbies? - 03-11-08
,051008_11.html,Sudden Impulse to Travel,10-08-05>
Recent '06-'07 Entrees
July 05 to July 06