Current | Archives | Profile | | | Email | Just who the hell are you? Please sign guestbook. | Insightful Comments To Me | Host | Image | Design

Just A Friday Night Date
10-22-05, 4:31 PM

Greeting my eyes through the window pane is a sunny sky with golden leaves drifting to the ground and slow gray clouds skies threatening upon the horizon - conflicting signs all around. Anxious to run but too tired to do so, hungry to eat but don�t want to raise a fork, wanting to explore her but tired of the travel.

So, I rolled away from the window and curled on my left side facing a sliding door glass mirror, the only full length mirror within the house. For years, I never saw myself in such a large mirror and relegated my appearance from the shoulders up in the small bathroom mirror. So during my life, the typical amount I see my face per day is roughly five to ten minutes whereas the rest of the world sees it more often than I � some probably can map the imperfections or even relish its uniqueness. Sometimes I feel that I�m hiding behind a curtain or peeking through two holes in a fence. Nonetheless, we associate a face with a person and not the mechanics behind the wall. This morning rather than focusing on a face, I see how others perceive me, at least a few, because a full person stares back at me resting on bed. He�s contemplating his future, just as I am.

I prefer laying on my left side. I fall asleep on my left side or upon my stomach but never on my right. However, on the family room couch where I sometimes watch television, I only rest upon my right side and can easily fall asleep doing so there, on my right side, but not in bed...on my right side.

Viewing the mirror and analyzing anything that pops into my head from relationships to the thought that cooking something Mexican tonight with an Anaheim pepper and melted Montery Jack Cheese on the grill sounds incredible with a side of a rice and beans and a grilled bread coated corn on the cob which I found in a new cook book.

Within the mirror above my right hip reflects CNN Headline News with an �investigative journalism report� claiming that we are no longer a �...paragraph society but have turned into one of bullet points...� Huh? Intrigued, the report explained an experiment which prohibited an office employee's email, instant messages and inner-office communications and equipped her with a pedometer whereas the control subject continued operating as normal. In the end, the woman without electronic communications found her job becoming less stressful and enjoyable with her daily face-to-face communications with her co-workers and as a bonus, recording more �mileage� on her pedometer and losing weight. Whereas, the control remained discontent and less mileage.

The thought continued with rapid technology and communications that we no longer seek well-written paragraphs and vocal communications but rather concise communications with phrases or icons. While reviewing the co-workers' previous communications they noted the incomplete sentences, acronyms or icons. Here I turned my recollection as to how I communicate with �..the desired woman whom I�m not dating but �just seeing� at the moment...� Perhaps, this is the problem?

Due to overly busy schedules throughout the week, when given the chance to communicate, the form has been in flirtatious emails but very rare vocal communications such as a phone call. Further complicating the matters are longer commutes, after work obligations or late night meetings. Perhaps our age, this generation, is missing out what it means to live a fulfilling life in exchange for a lifestyle, a paycheck or just maintaining our current employment. When is there free time to explore our relationships?

The phone rings and my friend Tonia answers cheerfully happy with her promotion and she no longer has to work on Saturdays and forty-five to fifty-five hour work weeks. She realized her plan's goal of accepting a lower position to showcase her talents in hopes of a raise and a promotion within a year. I�m happy for her and told her so, especially since she achieved her plan although two months later than expected. The raise wasn�t so great though and she�ll still struggle but the company knows they have someone who will diligently work and sacrifice for them.

The conversation turned to her new relationship. I was curious after how long of period it was before she slept with her current boyfriend. In the past, it could have been three hours after meeting in a bar but this guy had to work for it. She thought six to seven weeks.
�Did you talk on the phone?�
�Maybe once or twice a week.�
�Hmm. I haven�t even done that yet.�
�Well, since he worked only a block and half away, he would also stop by and ask me out for lunch.�
�So you spoke often?�
�Yes.�

From previous conversations with her, she said they were taking their time before they slept together then talked about it before they did. This reminded me of my previous relationship and I suppose this one should be no different but I still recognized the fact though, �I�m just a Friday Night Date� for this woman.

Yesterday - Tomorrow

Here we go again... - 10-06-10
fuck you. - 07-02-08
A new blog - 04-13-08
New site: The Running Bob - 03-16-08
Tax Man Encourages Hobbies? - 03-11-08
,051022_60.html,Just A Friday Night Date,10-22-05>
Recent '06-'07 Entrees
July 05 to July 06