Current | Archives | Profile | | | Email | Just who the hell are you? Please sign guestbook. | Insightful Comments To Me | Host | Image | Design

Trying To Lose My Enthusiam
10-27-05, 7:46 PM

An invitation for lunchtime sushi cannot be denied. Arriving at 1 p.m., instead of sitting at the sushi bar, I chose a table next to the window to watch the late lunch crowd hurry back to their offices while waiting for the �Desired Girl�. Although ten minutes late, I didn�t mind because I has happy to sit across from her and playfully flirt and tease her about simple insecurities or observations. Soon, the table to my right where three women were eating and the table behind her with two persons, all faded from my view and concern. We were only disturbed and took notice when the waitress brought us our plates of sushi.

At the Desired Girl�s recommendation, we ordered a plat of fried tofu which was coated with a light batter and teraki sauce. Ordinarily, I wouldn�t have ordered something like fried tofu when raw fish on rice or rolls were available but I was pleasantly surprised and even more so amused because, towards the end of lunch, I saw her eye the two remaining pieces.

�I see you eyeing those pieces. You're thinking: how bad you really want those but you don�t want your date to think less of you for eating the remaining pieces. You know, there are starving people in China who would die for sushi. Well, maybe not China, but I know a person who would just die for sushi anytime.� She claimed to be full but I saw it in her eyes and forming drool puddle, this was not true.

Overall, lunch was a nice diversion. We then strolled to the river-walk to �look at the view� where we smooched by the a fifteen foot statue of Lewis Clark who earnestly points westward with an extended, seven foot bronze arm. Had I known, a little afternoon desert was to follow, I would have worn a rain coat to hide my �enthusiasm�. Now, I still get a big thrill out of kissing and embraces probably more so than other guys my age, mainly because it has been quite awhile for any type of action -- by choice of course! What other reason could there be? After fifteen minutes so of working me up, she decides it was time to leave and abruptly turned away causing me to point in the same direction as Mr. Lewis but with a much scaled down appendage. As a guy, we learn to make a quick adjustment with a hand in the front pocket and try our best to disguise it by walking casually with a hand remaining in the front pocket to provide extra growing room. If I had been in gradeschool and called to the board, I would have used my notebook.

Well, as we approached the bustling street from the river-walk, sensing my 'enthusiasm' for the river view was not subsiding, to hide my embarrassing predicament, jokingly I stated, �You�re going to have to give me a few minutes or so or talk about something very technical because if we walk down that street, I�m going to pointed-out as a walking human compass.� It didn�t click with her just yet. �Had I known I was going to get some...I would have brought my rain coat as well. You just can�t do this to a guy.� Finally!

�Well, let�s walk over here to see how the construction is coming along.� She begins to talk about skyscrapers.

�Do you know any baseball stats? All the buildings you�re discussing and pointing to are phallic in design.� I joked. I simply wasn�t losing my �enthusiasm� for her because I would catch her reflection in an office�s plate glass window every so often. Think baseball.

Later in a email I wrote, �Thank you for the unexpected lunch invitation and walk along the river under the chaperoned eyes of Mr. Lewis.�

Yesterday - Tomorrow

Here we go again... - 10-06-10
fuck you. - 07-02-08
A new blog - 04-13-08
New site: The Running Bob - 03-16-08
Tax Man Encourages Hobbies? - 03-11-08
,051027_22.html,Trying To Lose My Enthusiam,10-27-05>
Recent '06-'07 Entrees
July 05 to July 06