Current | Archives | Profile | | | Email | Just who the hell are you? Please sign guestbook. | Insightful Comments To Me | Host | Image | Design

Character Assassination
12-23-05, 10:55 AM

Stress is high in the office with nothing to do and people anxious about the x-mas break. I tell you, it�s not safe around here, especially if you�re not present. Right now, we�re ripping on a co-worker. After two and half hours, this is what it is down to�I submitted the following to the website entitled, Buzzwhack , "...a site dedicated to demystifying buzzwords..."

Gossip Shark: Devoid of any original thought, other than reporting about his/her surrounding environment, week-end activities, potential management decisions or office gossip as to appear he/she is in the loop or possesses valuable, inside information. If he/she should stop his rounds/visits from office to office or cubicle to cubicle, he surely will die.


+++++++++POST ORIGINAL ENTRY++++++++++++ (The drawings below are contributed by co-worker.)

Trying to explain the above situation and drawings to a friend, the story grew and caused my co-worker to contribute the following drawings. I love the fact that we�re adults and resulting to high school accusations and grade school stick figures. In particular, I like the rudimentary triangle dress and sword, but moreso the blood splatter and dripping that only an adult could imagine.

Upon walking in this morning to my office, Joe deliberately stirred the pot by saying in a hush-hush voice, �You know who thinks your haircut is sexy?�

�I already know.� He continues oblivious to my response and wants to get a rise out me.

�You know who said it�she said it was� �sexy�.�

�Yea. Mary�

He continues, �Mary said it was�(pause)� sexy.�

�Yes, I know. She said it yesterday. I was standing right next to her. She said it to me.� Besides, why would I be pissed? It�s a hell of a compliment -- nothing controversial about it to garner a secretive hush-hush voice.

�You know?�

�Yes.�

I grew really pissed at his insistence then avoided his comments.

Later on, he went into Mary�s office and plopped himself down. �You know who is pissed at you?�

�No.�

�Bob is. He�s pissed that you commented about his haircut. His face was all read when I told him.�

Yesterday, Mary, Paul and I were all laughing about it and making jokes. We really have a good sense of humor and there was no hint of my taking offense to any of the comments.

Later on after Joe�s comments to Mary, she came to my office to see if there was something wrong and, of course, there wasn�t. I explained I was pissed at his bullshit and avoided talking with him. Mary and I then practiced poker faces of disinterest for the next time he comes into our office to gossip. Not satisfied with a poker face conflict-avoidance method, she confronted him in the elevator and slayed him.

(If I�m calling the pot black, here is the deal: my gossip is limited to this journal.)

Forgiveness in sight?

Yesterday - Tomorrow

Here we go again... - 10-06-10
fuck you. - 07-02-08
A new blog - 04-13-08
New site: The Running Bob - 03-16-08
Tax Man Encourages Hobbies? - 03-11-08
,051223_29.html,Character Assassination,12-23-05>
Recent '06-'07 Entrees
July 05 to July 06