Current | Archives | Profile | | | Email | Just who the hell are you? Please sign guestbook. | Insightful Comments To Me | Host | Image | Design

Christmas Dinner
11-27-05, 12:04 AM

Thoughts of fulfilling Christmas dreams for others and oneself begin soon after the last piece of left-over Thanksgiving turkey is eaten. As a �gift-giver� with a limited budget, there is a certain amount of stress to find the perfect gift reflective of recipient�s personality as well as something they want. The goal is to see their face glow with surprise and gratitude, however disappointment may be hidden behind the well-wrapped box with a bow. No matter how hard one tries, it only takes one saddened face, grimace or simple toss of box with indifference that may make all one�s effort seem meaningless.

After our traditional Italian Christmas Eve dinner, I returned home to sit in front of the fireplace, pet my dogs and wait for Santa. My little tree standing upon a table and tucked in the corner now appears to look like a mere twig in comparison to Christmas trees found in my brother�s neighborhood where twelve footers dominate picture windows and are adorned with gold garland. Yet, I have a tree to admire in a fire place�s glow.



The smell of coffee awoke me at 9 a.m., not a shrill of excitement by children running down the stairs to find presents. "Am I missing something in life?" along with following thoughts inexplicably racing through my head, "If the �girl� and I were to marry, would she want kids? Could she have kids? If not, would she adopt? Am I okay with adopting?" Where did these thoughts come from? To solve this anomalous thought pattern and make room for a hearty dinner of standing rib roast, I went for a nine mile run on Christmas morning where I found people running in their new gear and with mp3 players.

Icing down my joints then taking an hour long steam shower, I went to my parents for my favorite aspect to Christmas � the Christmas dinner. Our family�s new tradition is to wear festive hats, like Santa�s or antlers but through the tradition of Rib Roast, Yorkshire pudding and olive gravy and mashed potatoes memories of past Christmas and relatives return. I love Christmas dinner and this year�s was perfect.

Did I get what I want? No. Do I care? No. I have feeling my situation and desires will change this year...they always change. Things work themselves out. However, as I sit and write near the fireplace and second hand tree with dated ornaments, the memory of Christmas dinner stays with me.

Yesterday - Tomorrow

Here we go again... - 10-06-10
fuck you. - 07-02-08
A new blog - 04-13-08
New site: The Running Bob - 03-16-08
Tax Man Encourages Hobbies? - 03-11-08
,051227_66.html,Christmas Dinner,11-27-05>
Recent '06-'07 Entrees
July 05 to July 06