Current | Archives | Profile | | | Email | Just who the hell are you? Please sign guestbook. | Insightful Comments To Me | Host | Image | Design

Fate?
12-28-05, 2:25 PM

Upon taking a year off from the rat race to gather myself and travel, I removed my titanium Bulova watch and placed it in my fire-proof safe where it remained for two seasons. Upon being hired for my new job last year, I removed the watch from the safe and placed the non-functioning watch upon the nightstand with all good intentions to replace the battery. Re-enforced over this sabbatical from life was the revelation that I don�t care much for time as a concept, as it is man-made to track our historical passing, and that I don�t like to wear jewelry as I feel it to be constricting. Today, I finally entered the jewelry store to replace the watch�s battery and now am handcuffed to a concept I despise.

Fate must have been pushing me through the jewelry store�s front doors because two miraculous events occurred. While the watch was being repaired, I had nothing to do but look at the jewelry display cases where I noticed engagement and wedding rings. Not so much from a lack of opportunity but more so being spineless and gutless, I never investigated the costs of an engagement rings because I normally thought that I could never afford to marry let alone afford to be married and raise a family. Although the ring settings were without diamonds, the costs didn�t seem so outlandish as I once thought. Maybe fate is involved?

The old jeweler returned with my watch explaining that he is not a Bulova dealer and the watch may be set electronically because the knob typically utilized to move the hands did not seem to function and I probably had to manipulate the buttons. He apologized and told me to return if I cannot set the time properly because one of his retired jeweler friends may know how to do so. I paid him the $8.50 and thanked him for his assistance.

Walking through the downtown streets now handcuffed to the rat race, I scurried back to my office on time such that I didn�t take over the hour lunch allotment. Instinctually, I raised my now heavy, yet adorned, left bound wrist to see the second hand sweeping and watch hands displaying the incorrect time. Realizing my mistake, I flipped open my cell phone for the correct time that is linked to the atomic clock in Boulder, Colorado: 1:41 p.m. it read. Glancing back at my watch, I couldn�t believe it! 1:41! How is this possible? The watch has not been functioning for over two years and the time is synchronized! FATE?


Yesterday - Tomorrow

Here we go again... - 10-06-10
fuck you. - 07-02-08
A new blog - 04-13-08
New site: The Running Bob - 03-16-08
Tax Man Encourages Hobbies? - 03-11-08
,051228_95.html,Fate?,12-28-05>
Recent '06-'07 Entrees
July 05 to July 06