Current | Archives | Profile | | | Email | Just who the hell are you? Please sign guestbook. | Insightful Comments To Me | Host | Image | Design

Long Range Plans, Short-term Girlfriend
12-30-05, 12:55 PM

Dead! Typically, the approximate office personnel is thirty but on the Eve of New Year�s Eve, only eight people show. This day should not go to waste!

Early in the morning, I rang Tonia to plan for the Chicago Marathon in October as well as two others and a couple short races. Unlike last time where we waited too long to make reservations, I thoroughly researched hotel costs and found us a decent enough deal at the Congress Hotel which is ground zero at the Start and Finish lines. Simply, we wake; have a cup of coffee, walk out the door for the Starter�s gun and we�re off running!

We are renting a �Family Suite� with two bedrooms that will cost roughly $1,100 which really is a commitment because she envisions her current boyfriend will still be around for the race and running with her. The conversation went a little like this:

�Divided by three that will be roughly 366.67 each.� Tonia calculates.

�But if I bring someone,� thinking of current girlfriend who I may dump but is a runner and is growing on me, �it will only be $275.00�. I counter.

�Don�t tell me you�re bringing �the girl?!�

Since I made statements that most likely this relationship won�t last, it was difficult to retract this statement. I even had difficulty telling Carol last night, ��the girl is still around and I haven�t dumped her yet.�

�Well, there are two rooms: one with a king size and one with two doubles. We could always find some other runner to join us. You never know, I may meet someone.�

Meanwhile, emailing me is �the girl� who wrote, �Am I being presumptuous to inquire if we are still dating at that time that we can share the room and expenses? ;)�

How timely was her email?

All throughout the morning we are exchanging emails independently of each other. I found myself more excited and enthusiastic with Tonia rather than the girl because I know Tonia will be around � she always has been whereas the �girl� has not proven herself. I noted this because Tonia and I were making long range plans and commitments for 2006 whereas the �girl� and I cannot make plans for time more than 24 hours in advance and, even then, it becomes cumbersome.

I guess I know Tonia extremely well but not the �girl�. Is there a willingness of me to make the effort?

Yesterday - Tomorrow

Here we go again... - 10-06-10
fuck you. - 07-02-08
A new blog - 04-13-08
New site: The Running Bob - 03-16-08
Tax Man Encourages Hobbies? - 03-11-08
,051230_91.html,Long Range Plans, Short-term Girlfriend,12-30-05>
Recent '06-'07 Entrees
July 05 to July 06