Current | Archives | Profile | | | Email | Just who the hell are you? Please sign guestbook. | Insightful Comments To Me | Host | Image | Design

Blue Positive Sign +
01-29-06, 4:58 PM

At half-time with Louisville losing to Rutgers I walked out of the bar and became blinded by a bright sun that instantly caused a pounding headache and hangover only after three beers � something is wrong. As I adjusted my cape to conceal my body from the harmful sun, I sought my mobile coffin for protection when the phone rang.

�Bob, what are you doing?�

�Leaving the bar to grocery shop because Louisville sucks.� Actually, I intended to rent DVDs for my long run then grocery shop because I have nothing else to do in my life on bright sunny day. �What�s the word?�

�I�m pregnant.�

�Congratulations! ? ! ? ! Is this a good thing or a bad thing?�

�Well, 34 and 32.� She replied in an incomplete sentence.

�What does that mean, 32 - 34?�

�I�m 32 and he�s 34 so we�re going to have it.�

�Oh. So, this is a good thing? Congratulations. How did Thomas take it.�

�He was preparing himself by lying on the couch when I yelled, �Honey?!� from the bathroom. Just then, he knew.�

�And, your mom?�

�She knew right as I called and asked her to sit down. She�s ecstatic.�

�Good! She should be.�

I just didn�t know how I felt about it though. On hand, I hope this guy is good to her because I�m losing my best friend which hurts but I full well expected it to happen someday � people get married and become involved with their families.

�I guess, I�ll change the room reservations because there is no way in hell you�ll be able to run it. You�ll be due in September and the race is in October. The other race is at the end of April and you�ll be four months pregnant.�

�No don�t do it just yet. I can still exercise. Besides, I�ll go see the doctor this week to make sure.�

�Alright. So when are you going to get married?�

�Having a kid doesn�t mean we should get married. That�s not a good enough reason. Just keep the reservation.�

�All right. I have to go home now and digest this. Congratulations and we�ll talk soon.�

Lost and feeling alone, I rented four movies and grocery shopped. This would have been a good excuse for junk food but I avoided it. However, when going to buy fruit for my smoothy, I couldn�t resist the temptation of a chocolate bar to sooth the nerves.

At a minimum out of this, my blind optimism purchased the winning Power Ball ticket � time to adjust that dream as well. Prior to this pregnancy, if either Tonia and I won, we were going to support the other and travel because we would need a travel buddy. Oh well, time to find a new buddy.

Yesterday - Tomorrow

Here we go again... - 10-06-10
fuck you. - 07-02-08
A new blog - 04-13-08
New site: The Running Bob - 03-16-08
Tax Man Encourages Hobbies? - 03-11-08
,060128_5.html,Blue Positive Sign +,01-29-06>
Recent '06-'07 Entrees
July 05 to July 06