Current | Archives | Profile | | | Email | Just who the hell are you? Please sign guestbook. | Insightful Comments To Me | Host | Image | Design

A Frigid Platonic Relationship
02-20-06, 11:18 AM

In light of the looming 20 mile run on Sunday, my friend suggested that the �girl� and I could meet and at least jog together. �Just keep your dates platonic for now until things straighten out for you,� she said in reference to other crap going on in my life such as committing my dad to the nursing home; finding a job that actually covers my living costs; house repairs; car repairs; taxes� the list goes on and on. She would be companionship.

With that in my back pocket, after running 8 miles on Friday night, I scanned the job boards and amazingly found two jobs that I could actually consider worthy for a career, not a "job" but a "career". Immediately, I responded and now anxiously await for a reply.

Saturday, a winter storm hit and the Louisville weatherman created public hysteria with their exaggerated forecast of sub-zero cold and snow accumulations. �The roads are terrible and it is cold outside. Why don�t we celebrate your father�s birthday tomorrow?�

Since my dad is confined to a wheelchair, it's not as if we were going to paint the town red or even a shade of pink. �Mom, don�t fall prey to this Kentucky mentality! This is nothing. I have a four wheel drive vehicle and lived in much severe winter conditions. What do you need? I have 20 miles to run tomorrow and Sunday is the better of the two days. I already ran my four miles and it is not so bad out.� I lied. I ran on the treadmill.

Off I went to purchase lunch for the family, a birthday cake and birthday present. Since my father�s short-term memory isn�t so great nor can he control his eye movements or comprehend what is read, I bought him Stephen King�s �Cell� book on cd. For a cold, mid-teen degree Saturday, the birthday celebration was a nice diversion.

My mom is selling their belongings in preparation of moving my father to the nursing home as well as selling their home. �Do any of you want one of your father�s watch?� She looks toward my brother, clearly the favorite sibling as evident of the multitude of cars, bikes, and other stuff they purchased him.

�Hey, wait a second! You know, I�ve been waiting all these years for you to buy me a nice watch. About seven years ago, I gave-up and bought my own. When you bought Ron�s watch, you told me that he was special and needed nice watch to fly planes.�

�Well, I bought you a watch in Chicago when you went to College.�

�It was a digital alarm watch that costs $40.00, not like the $1,000 jewelry piece Ron has.� My brother instantly raises his wrist smiling and showing it off, sparkling from the frigid sun blasting through the slightly frosted window. So, in the end, my father bestowed onto me a very nice, gold watch that is now being engraved such that I could remember him later in life.

Nine degrees on Sunday morning with a wind-chill of zero was being reported at eight a.m. �I wonder if it will warm up by 10:30?�
�Expect the temperature not peak above eighteen today with wind chills in the single digits.� The weatherman replied as I lay in bed.

It was nice finally waking to a clean home as I stayed in from the bars Saturday night such that I could wake-up hang-over free and able to run. Actually, I figured this artic run would test my mettle to complete the marathon. During the marathon when I feel I could quit, I could have point of reference of a very difficult and challenging run that will urge me on knowing that I could accomplish a goal.

The girl arrived at my house, layered and embarrassingly modeled her face mask that she intended to wear on the run. �Don�t worry, I have a similar one,� and placed mine on yet I never wore it on the run. In fact, during the twelve degree run, I even removed my gloves and wind breaker. Dumb move!

Mile nine, I was ready to quit and tried to persuade her with visions of pizza delivery boy brining pizza right to the door with us watching Sunday movies in front of a fireplace. �No! You will thank me later for finishing the run.�
�Fine!�

Our pace quickened, in hopes the pain and cold would go away. At mile 18, she needed to stretch due to a cramping calf muscled but I mushed forward, swearing all the while that my aging body can longer easily pump out these miles. �You dumb-ass! You let yourself go for five years and no look at you! You deserve this.� Yet, I continued and soon she joined me. Our last mile, which I call the �Victory Lap�, was less the stellar with us walking it in sweat drench clothes and our body core temperature dropping. Every step caused pain in every muscle strand and fiber.

�Why are we doing this?� She asked. �Normal people are in front of televisions with hot chocolate?�

�I tried to give you normal, nine miles ago, but you said 'NO! You'll thank me.' Well, we�re creating an experience. Don�t you want to challenge yourself throughout life?�

We finished and raced home in the car with it�s heater not pumping out enough heat. When showering, the luke warm water felt like thousands of needles penetrating my skin while trying to warm my bones. Exhausted, I made the hot chocolate and eventually pulled out the sleeper sofa to stretch-out our exhausted bodies. Having a warm body next to me was nice. We even watched the ten year old plus movies that they play on Sunday in order to pass time.

Later in the even, we went to a Mexican restaurant and unbelievably, ordered frozen margaritas despite the single degree temperature outside. But you know what? It was the best god-damned well-deserved margarita ever!

Later we went to the movies and saw �Matador� and returned to our platonic homes.

Yesterday - Tomorrow

Here we go again... - 10-06-10
fuck you. - 07-02-08
A new blog - 04-13-08
New site: The Running Bob - 03-16-08
Tax Man Encourages Hobbies? - 03-11-08
,060220_23.html,A Frigid Platonic Relationship,02-20-06>
Recent '06-'07 Entrees
July 05 to July 06