Current | Archives | Profile | | | Email | Just who the hell are you? Please sign guestbook. | Insightful Comments To Me | Host | Image | Design

Too Tired to write anything intesting
02-26-06, 8:10 PM

A cold of sorts or I'm just exhausted has me achey and tired. Saturday, I wore a t-shirt and shorts to run a four mile race in 42 degree weather which probably contributed to my illness today.

Although I didn't average a 7:30 pace, my old bones managed a 7:14 first mile, a 7:30 second and finally completed with a 31:30 total race. The killer was people began to cheer as I neared the finish line and just when I thought to use my "kick" I realized the cheering wasn't for yours truly. Instead, a midget, about four feet or less, and probably ten or eleven years old blew past me which instantly took the winds from sails as I thought about competing againt him to the finish. Yea, no win situation in the case..."good going old guy...way to beat a kid!" On second thought, I'll drop back and let him sprint ahead.

Afterwards I stopped by the girls house for pancakes and turkey bacon. Pancakes were the inticement but I've learned by eating at her house means eating whole grains or completely healthy food. I do like healthy food, as long as I make it, but not when others do. Don't know why...maybe it's because I know what to expect. Chewey my pancakes like a horse eating hay through a fence, I managed a straight face that it was good but denied seconds and just patiently sat as she grazed.

We were then going to see a movie but my aches and sleepiness kicked-in and we retreated to the couch to sleep --two hours worth. Remember platonic! A little something went on but no sex.

This morning I arrived at the park on a mid-twenty degree morning with my muscles and tendons in just pure pain. After twenty or so strides, I knew I wouldn't be able to complete a mile. Maybe it was that we admitting my dad to the nursing home this afternoon that added to the physical and mental stress.

Later in the afternoon, I drove dad to the home were it must have been 82 degrees inside. If I can't pay a heating bill, I'm setting-up camp in this place! It is actually very, very nice with a formal dining room set with crystal and silver, a cafe and another dining area. The nursing home is better than my home or I'd estimate as good as the top 15% homes in the country with fine, rich woodwork, a movie theater, dry cleaning/laundry, barber, etc. Sign me up! I now look forward to the day that I have to be admitted, provided I could afford such a place.

Afterwards, I took mom for a Mexican dinner where we each unwound with two jumbo margarittas as I learned another relative's kid is hooked on heroine and a four time rehab failure.

Ahhh....life! If it weren't so miserable, I'd miss the (relatively) good times.

Yesterday - Tomorrow

Here we go again... - 10-06-10
fuck you. - 07-02-08
A new blog - 04-13-08
New site: The Running Bob - 03-16-08
Tax Man Encourages Hobbies? - 03-11-08
,060226_24.html,Too Tired to write anything intesting,02-26-06>
Recent '06-'07 Entrees
July 05 to July 06