Current | Archives | Profile | | | Email | Just who the hell are you? Please sign guestbook. | Insightful Comments To Me | Host | Image | Design

The Matador and Bloody Mary -- Quite An Eventful Saturday
03-13-06, 12:27 PM

Friday, I was able to take one-half the day off due to my boss being on vacation. Prior to playing hooky, I was found with the Councilman tromping through a wooded area marking trees to be saved or removed in what will eventually be a nice, small park with a meandering creek. The Councilman snapped a few photos for his political campaign for �before� and �after� for P.R. and I quipped, after looking at the trash strewn grounds and garbage dumped in the creek, �I should be dressed as an American Indian shedding a tear,� referring to the classic 1970�s television commercial that imposed guilt upon the American public for polluting.

Saturday morning, I awoke to thunderstorms and downpours which answered the �girl�s� and my debate as to what to wear to the 5k race. Arriving at the downtown, minor league, ballpark where the �Start/Finish� line was located, approximately fifteen thousand people where congregating at the same time � 5,100 to run and 10,000 spectators. Miraculously, "the girl" found me amongst the thousands, probably due to my cardinal colored running jacket or spoting my �f@$#ing hot� body. (This reference is a joke and a response Tonia and I used when people asked us, �Why do you run a marathons?� Deadpan reply: �To be f#%#ing hot!� Usually, they just nod with no reply.)

Stretching together, I asked, �Why am I nervous? This is not like a test or anything? I mean, it is not as though my work, grades or life is dependent upon the outcome of the race. Why am I so nervous? I am voluntarily running this on my own accord.

With fifteen minutes to the start of the race, we positioned ourselves near the Start line when streaks of lighting filled the sky and thunder vibrated the molecules within our bodies. �When you golf, they usually sound the horn to return to the clubhouseto avoid people being struck? Probably, they can�t do it here because the race would start.� People ran towards the minor league stadium and sought shelter inside or under the eaves as we toughened our resolved by staying put. God was testing me. I�m tougher than all these people. Out of 5,000 participants, about 30 or so, diehards stood at the starting line ready to go. We�re drenched already so what�s a few more drops?

BAM! The sky's damn broke and God�s wave pushed us to seek shelter but the crowd was unyielding under the canopies and eves. We searched for doors but the sardines inside could not move either. Returning to the Start line, about � of inch standing water began to spill over into our shoes.

With three minutes to the start of the race, people began to file back into the starting pen but then the race was yet delayed another ten minutes in order to make sure the reluctant dawdlers reached the starting line as well as to permit equal opportunity to be drenched to the bone. The crowd chanted and jumped up and down to stay warm in the 48 degree morning and dripped with adrenalin for the starter's pistol. Lightening surrounded steaked and thunder crackled in the background as a damn, American Idol 10 year old reject stumbled over the national anthem and then, BOOM! The starter's pistol was drowned by the thunder and we were off!

Approximately 25 seconds lapsed from the gun until I passed the Start Line and we were comfortably sprinting the 5k but having to zig-zag through the slower runners. The first mile split read 8:05 which frankly disappointed me because I hoped of 7:30 pace. So, I picked-up my pace believing I was running approximately 8 minute pace. �15:15 surprised the hell out of me at the next mile marker because I made-up some incredible time, 50 seconds!� I forgot about the 25 second lag time to get to the start line that the Champion Chip timing mechanism attached to my foot will subtract from my finish time. I thought, �I may make my realistic goal of a sub 24:00 minute race.� My ideal race, or fantasy race, would have been 22:00 considering how out of shape I was back in September.

To achieve my goal, I raised my heart level, burned my lungs and ran faster when the worst bit of news came to me by a fellow, unknown runner, �Be careful! Your left shoe lace is becoming un-tied.�

�Damn!� I continued though hoping it would not become fully untied until I crossed the line. Little by little, I felt the offending laces whipping against my ankle, not to urge me on, but threatening me to stop and tie them. When it become obvious I would fall flat on my face, I jumped onto the sidewalk, out of the way of the stampede, and tried to squat to tie the laces. I couldn�t do it. My muscles would not contract to permit me to kneel. My quick ten second tie must of taken 30 second or so.

Near the finish, a man yelled out times, "23:30, 23:33�". I can still do it! Sure, I may have an heart attack, but reaching my goal is worth it! What are the chances of a coronary? As I kicked to the finish, I felt the muscle tears in my thigh and calves as well as my heart pounding and my lungs exploding, including my genetic mutated small third lung, for more oxygen. "23:58: 23:59..." I won�t make it. I heard 24:12 as I neared the line.

Noting the mass of runners ahead me, I was dejected for not obtaining my goals or my realizing my deep-seeded fantasy of 7 minute mile pace and being a top 5 finisher for my age. I realized that I couldn�t be top 5 finisher for my age category because I�m a not genetic freak, with the exception of the extra lung, who has five foot long legs and can run five minute miles. I just want a respectable race for my age, 39, within the 35 to 39 year old category.

After twenty minutes, I found the �girl� eatig a bagel along with armfuls of sports drinks and a variety of swag that they distribute to the post-run athletes. Smiling she asked, �What was your time?�

�24:12, and yours?�

�About the same.�

Presumptuous was my retort because I didn�t see her at the Finish, �Were you behind me?�

She snapped and smiled, �Or, in front of you!�

�I didn�t see you.�

�After the first half mile, people seemed to disappear from the race. I just didn�t recognize or notice anyone.� She was in the �zone�! A place where runners love to be because the world melts away and you are flying! Clearly, I never made it to the zone but from her statement she was there.

�So, did you just keep running past the Finish to the food stands!� I jested.

I drove the �girl� to her car and I made a promise to take her out to breakfast and spend the day with her. After a quick shower, I arrived and we walked to Lynn�s Paradise Caf�, a brightly painted, pink, turquoise, funky restaurant with a tin coffee pot fountain pouring water into a coffee cup that foams with bubbles near the driveway. Immediately, I knew this was my kind of restaurant � an eclectic, urban gem, known for its breakfast, with a diverse, somewhat hipster crowd mixed with the ordinary hung-over college kids and restless families. When I saw a pint sized, Bloody Mary, on the menu, I just knew this was going to be a good day.

�Would you believe, I never had a Bloody Mary?�
�No! Are you kidding me?�
�Nope.�
�I love them. Well, do you like V-8?�
�Never tried V-8, either. My dad drank them though.�
Shocked, I replied. �I guess I didn�t start to drink V-8 until this year when I learned that after one glass that all my vegetable requirements are satisfied for the day. After the glass, its� �hello� McDondald�s and crap food!� I pause in reflection recalling the time as a child watching my father drinking the stuff. �Yea, I guess you�re right. It is a �dad� drink.� My mind continues to wander, �� I have no kids�I�m not a father�why am I drinking this?� �Would you like to try this?�

She does and is not as quite impressed and passionate about Bloody Mary�s as I am. It�s fine by me because this drink cost me nearly eight bucks and I wasn�t about to depart with the assorted, skewered peppers floating in my drink.

Desiring a spicy breakfast burrito with green chili, �The Matador�, a three egg omelet with chorizo sausage, peppers and onions, was the closest menu item to what I desired whereas she ordered pancakes.

�Don�t laugh,� she said. This statement is typically said by someone revealing something personal. �Up until last year, I never had a pancake.�

�For real?�

�Well, my mom was never a good cook and believed in using only salt, pepper, butter and powder garlic for cooking. She was amazed just a few years ago when I showed her that real garlic cloves could be minced, rather than sprinkling powdered garlic. Actually, that was the first time when I began using garlic in cooking as well. I still haven't tried waffles either. Are they good?"

My god, am I in a parallel universe? What human, an American human, has not tried pancake for forty years since their birth? Just then our breakfast arrived and I no longer cared that she was a freak as I dug into my �Matado� and she into three, humongous, plate-sized pancakes.
The waddle back to her place was well-needed as sleepiness filled our heads from our full bellies. �Instead of going to the movies, could we just rent a couple and stay in bed all day?�

�Yea! But, instead of moving the television and dvd player to the bedroom, could we pull-out the sleeper sofa?�

�Of course!� Actually, the sleeper-sofa sounded more inviting and spontaneous rather than a bedroom. Returning from Blockbuster and settling under the covers with her dog who burrows underneath and lies between us, we spent the remaining rainy afternoon content with our accomplishments � she coming in fifth for her age group; I ended with with an adjusted pace mile of 7:28 and seventh for 39 year olds; and being rewarded and stuffed by the �Matador� and a spicy, �dad drink�, the Bloody Mary.

Yesterday - Tomorrow

Here we go again... - 10-06-10
fuck you. - 07-02-08
A new blog - 04-13-08
New site: The Running Bob - 03-16-08
Tax Man Encourages Hobbies? - 03-11-08
,060313_86.html,The Matador and Bloody Mary -- Quite An Eventful Saturday,03-13-06>
Recent '06-'07 Entrees
July 05 to July 06