Current | Archives | Profile | | | Email | Just who the hell are you? Please sign guestbook. | Insightful Comments To Me | Host | Image | Design

Which One Of These Things Don't Belong?
03-26-06, 12:43 PM

After further consideration, the combination of salary and somewhat narrow, valley and very cold winters, I decided this job opportunity was not the right one at the right time. I declined the invitation to interview and moved-on. Under a different set of circumstances, say, a few years ago, I would have jumped at the chance. As I get older and set in my ways and comfortable with my relationships and surroundings, it is becoming more difficult to relocate for a job.

Friday night, my nieces� and nephews� grade school held a silent auction, fund-raiser where I observed that I did not share the commonality of having school age children or grandchildren which was typical for those who attending. At moments I become jealous of the young trophy wives who were well presented with designer clothes, expensive jewelry, extremely white teeth and glowing tans which is probably the reason why I bid on the Pizza/tan combo. As usual, after spotting the young, glowing �mommy� proud to be out on night, my eye was immediately drawn to her wedding finger where a huge rock was proudly displayed that claimed ownership. Many of the women, mingled among the table speaking of their children�s accomplishments and how wonderful the event was from their labors of their volunteered time. Being the single guy with no kids, what could I contribute to the conversation? Like the old Sesame Street lesson song, �Which one of the these things don�t belong with the other?�, clearly, Uncle Bob was the odd one. Yes, I�m the Grover of the cast of characters � goofy, misplaced, carefree and somewhat dim-witted. I can deal with that...

It�s not to say there everyone was thin and beautiful. Sure, there were a few husbands who couldn�t afford the plastic surgery. Perhaps they invested their money elsewhere? If one looked at the parking lot, maybe the Mercedes, Hummers, Volvos, BMW�s and Lexus gave a hint. Thank god I didn�t drive my dog smelling, slightly faded, bald tire, soon to be classic.

The next morning, my material jealously quickly passed as I returned to my former Colorado resort worker frame of mind: �It�s not what you earn/have, it�s what you did today.� At 8:30 the gun shot for the Rodes City Run and I was off running the 10k. Considering my foot injury sidelined all week, after the first quarter mile with little pain, I decided to continue with the run. With just minor pain, I was running comfortable and fine until I hit a downhill portion at mile 3 which shot pain to the outside of foot feeling as if the bone snapped or was protruding through my skin. Considering I had 3.2 miles to go to the finish line where my car was parked, I had no alternative but to continue. At the bottom of a hill near the finish, one of the trophy mommies from the previous night recognized me and surprised me by cheering me on with a, �GO BOB!�

Surprisingly, I had a kick and was able to overcome the pain and finished 138 for 35 to 39 year old age group and 13th out of 39 year olds. Not bad for injured guy. I was proud of my accomplishment because it was a comfortable, with the exception of shooting foot pain during the downhill, eight minute pace that I think I could maintain for the marathon. In two weeks is the �Papa Johns 10 miler� where I hope to run pain free and further test this pace.

The �girl� and her visiting sister, who I met for the first time, also ran the race, each finishing 42nd and 92nd for their age category. I don�t know what kind of impression I made but I�m sure to hear of it tonight. So, with the two women, the �girl� never have been married and her divorced with no children, sister, our small sub-group felt comfortable and accomplished... for the moment. Yet, there is insecurity or shallowness to us because, independently, we each thought to hit a tanning booth prior to the marathon such to feel good about ourselves and look hot during the run. Thank god I won the pizza/tan combination -- binge eat and tan.

Yesterday - Tomorrow

Here we go again... - 10-06-10
fuck you. - 07-02-08
A new blog - 04-13-08
New site: The Running Bob - 03-16-08
Tax Man Encourages Hobbies? - 03-11-08
,060326_8.html,Which One Of These Things Don't Belong?,03-26-06>
Recent '06-'07 Entrees
July 05 to July 06