Current | Archives | Profile | | | Email | Just who the hell are you? Please sign guestbook. | Insightful Comments To Me | Host | Image | Design

23 miles...good times...yep, good times.
04-02-06, 11:05 AM

Let�s get past the crude entry now and back to the mundane life of Bob...

Whereas a year ago I would have jumped at the chance of leaving this fine, redneck bubba metropolis, I find myself being drawn to stay or be within driving distance. Three local jobs seemed to miraculously pop-up on the various job boards that I would be interested in, one of which, I already had a phone interview. The remaining two have yet to materialize.

Sunday morning, today, was difficult to get out of bed due to the exhausting 23 mile run yesterday in preparation of the April 29th marathon. Friday, the Orthopedists told me there was nothing he could do for my injury because it was tendon that wrapped around my ankle with one secured to the fifth metatarsal and the other near a bone by big toe.

He said the pain would continue and I could try running on it but most people soon give up running for another sport. Cortisone shots was temporary but potentially damaging solutions. He said the only thing to do was to rest and it may go away or it may not. There is no time table.

Not one to waste a good six months of training and being in a state of denial, I bought new running shoes and a pair of SuperFeet insoles from the speciality running store a high school salesman. It is often typical for runners to talk about their races and goals when purchasing shoes. I wouldn�t call my emotion one of jealous but that of envy when he told me, this 17-18 year old, that he�s run the boston and few others and his best time was 2:38. This little talk had me even more determined to test my body and mind. �Hey, I can run through pain by disassociating myself from pain while running. Perhaps, I can land on my left foot to absorb the impact on the downhill portions? I need a strategy.�

Friday night, after demolishing nearly a quarter pound of pasta, turkey meatballs and garlic bread, I was asleep by 7:30 p.m. and up by six a.m. I picked up the girl around 8 and we on the course by 9:30 a.m for 23 miles of the 26. By mile 11 every step I took had a shooting pain in my right outside of my foot and near the ankle. The strategy failed and I wanted to quit about three or four time during the run but didn�t let on to the girl. Despite a minor calf cramp around mile 21, we continued to mile 22 where we had to walk the last mile to complete the run and walk an additional mile to the car.

Later on over dinner at the house, we each learned that we had the same thought, �With the four weeks left, how in the hell am I going to pick-up an additional 3 miles in the next four weeks?�
For the rest of the day, we pulled out the sofa bed, played dvd�s and each had three ice bags on ankles and knees with elevated legs. �Quite a date!� We each remarked. Trying to convince ourselves that we are doing the right, sane thing, �Whereas others go out to dinner and dancing, we are testing ourselves. Just think how good-looking and thin we�ll be in the summer! And, we can just a few hundred he can claim that we ran the marathon. Babe, can you fill-up my ice bag while you�re up?� She rises and hobbles to the refrigerator with a stride of 90 year old woman with cataracts who reaches out to use the wall for stability and support. �Yea, we know how to have a good time, alright!�

Yesterday - Tomorrow

Here we go again... - 10-06-10
fuck you. - 07-02-08
A new blog - 04-13-08
New site: The Running Bob - 03-16-08
Tax Man Encourages Hobbies? - 03-11-08
,060402_91.html,23 miles...good times...yep, good times.,04-02-06>
Recent '06-'07 Entrees
July 05 to July 06