Current | Archives | Profile | | | Email | Just who the hell are you? Please sign guestbook. | Insightful Comments To Me | Host | Image | Design

Too Old For Being a Teenager
04-10-06, 12:55 PM

�You should grow a mustache to look older,� I was told by a perspective employer. Unfortunately, this wasn�t the first time in my life I heard similar statements so I didn�t take offense. Cursed or bless, I can�t decide if my young looks benefit or hinder me but, for the love of god though, within six months I�ll turn forty. Yes, forty.

On Saturday, rather than cooking home as planned, I thought to take the �girl� out for a nice dinner, perhaps some wine and a movie. The reason? I can�t show her I�m broke all the time, but more importantly, I never got around to buying groceries.

After a thirty-five minute wait, we sat at our table; mulled over the menu; and, began to order. I also said, �We would like a bottle of Penfold�s wine.�

�You look fine,� the waiter smugly said to the �girl�, �but I will have to ask to see your identification.�

�For real?� I returned using a fourteen year old�s lingo.

�Yes, I have to see if you�re of age.�

We broke out laughing. �Hell yea! You just made my day!�

Embarrassed he returned the driver�s license.

Yesterday - Tomorrow

Here we go again... - 10-06-10
fuck you. - 07-02-08
A new blog - 04-13-08
New site: The Running Bob - 03-16-08
Tax Man Encourages Hobbies? - 03-11-08
,060410_20.html,Too Old For Being a Teenager,04-10-06>
Recent '06-'07 Entrees
July 05 to July 06