Current | Archives | Profile | | | Email | Just who the hell are you? Please sign guestbook. | Insightful Comments To Me | Host | Image | Design

Why Don't We Meet For Lunch?
04-11-06, 2:03 PM

�Why don�t we meet at the park for lunch?�

�We could compare sandwiches, I with my filet-mignon on a bun and you with your nine whole grain and almonds bread with roasted turkey.�

�Meet at City Hall�s main steps at 12:05.�

I didn�t ask, �Why not noon?� I�ve accepted her little quirks. �Sounds great! 12:05 it is then.�

My not-too-concern for the environment was evident for all to see by my toting a plastic grocery bag containing the simple filet-mignon with deli mustard sandwich, a can of pears in lite syrup, diet Sprite and small bag of barbecue chips. I reached the top step precisely at 12:05 and she walked out of the elevator at 12:05:10 p.m. wearing a long white coat that looked out of season for mid-seventies bright sunny day. I made no comment. While walking to the park, twice she tried to pull me across the street but I stood firm to my route, though. �Are you going to let me lead?�

�This time, I will.�

�Maybe we don�t have the same park in mind? I thought we were going to the pocket park.�

�There�s a pocket park?�

�Yes! It�s around the corner.�

�I�ve never been to this pocket park!� She replied with emphasis on the words �pocket park�, again.

�No. There aren�t pockets in the park, nor do people pick your pockets.� I quipped to give her notice that I caught her excited inquiry.

Of the six benches faces a non-functioning fountain, we settled on one bench after testing another. Within her environmentally-friendly re-used, brown shopping bag with handles, she extracted tupper-ware with neatly Bermuda onions and sliced red, ripe tomatoes on three delicately placed leaves of Romaine lettuce. Unwrapping, not a single layer of Saran Wrap, but a twice wrapped whole grain bread with whole grain kernels still visible, she begins construction of her sandwich whereas I�m nearly a fourth-way finished. By the time she finished stacking the lettuce, tomatoes and onions and explaining the origins and selection of this particularly wholesome bread, I finished my sandwich and was on the chips before she took a first bite.

Thereafter, the City�s work crew appeared to clean the park and cut the lawn which annoyed one pocket park visitor so much that she rose in disgust with lunch in hand to walk out of our tranquil little park.

Yesterday - Tomorrow

Here we go again... - 10-06-10
fuck you. - 07-02-08
A new blog - 04-13-08
New site: The Running Bob - 03-16-08
Tax Man Encourages Hobbies? - 03-11-08
,060411_23.html,Why Don't We Meet For Lunch?,04-11-06>
Recent '06-'07 Entrees
July 05 to July 06