Current | Archives | Profile | | | Email | Just who the hell are you? Please sign guestbook. | Insightful Comments To Me | Host | Image | Design

How Good of Friday Can This Be?!
04-14-06, 2:23 PM

Resolving my dilemma concerning the interview, I researched the web-sites further which lead me to the conclusion the resort's land entitlements were in place and, most likely, they were looking for a Construction Manager with vertical experience, not someone like myself, who is Pre-construction Project Manager for land entitlements with some construction management experience.

The next morning within an email, I summarized my concerns to the Headhunter and requested that he call me. He hasn�t called yet. Sure, I could interview but it wouldn�t be productive use of time for the interviewer or myself if the job description doesn�t match my expertise. I don't like to lie during the interviews but stretching the truth, sometimes. In this case though, if truth was a rubberband, I would easily break it and tear the reminants to shreds to get a job offer. The result being: I would fail miserably in the poistion.

Concerning the other interview, I previously interviewed with the company last year and always hoped that a job would become available. When I saw the ad, I emailed my resume and instantly received an email to establish a time for an interview. I wrote back selecting my time and reminded them my application was �on file�. Perhaps, company�s actually keep our application and results of interviews �on file� because she never called during the time specified.

Either way, I feel great relief. One, I don�t want to interview for a job where I don�t have a snowball�s chance in hell or setting myself up for failure. Regarding the second interview, last year I had to take an on-line test regarding cognitive abilities and leadership qualities. Hence, I�m assuming the call was to set an appointment for this screening test again. If they still had the results, then the call wasn�t necessary.

Tomorrow is the last running race in the Triple Crown series � the national 10 mile Championship which I�m very excited about with anticipation, especially since my foot injury miraculously cured as of Wednesday night! I can now step without shooting pain in my foot or ankle! Running 22 miles in the condition was not fun with self-inflicting pain when your body screams to �STOP Running Asshole!� Instead, I continued to run with my Gatorade pounding my back over 22 miles which inflicted deep bruises and some sort of extremely painful, skin agitation reaction that I still have two weeks later. At least I�m down to one source of pain now!

I haven�t written about my father in quite awhile, or so it seems. My mother finally realized his failing condition last night when she stopped by for a visit and relayed the story about her visit to the home where she found him alone in the courtyard sleeping. News of his friend�s death depressed him as he probably took count of his failing health. Since he has no control over his legs and limited arm strength, he tries to transfer himself from the bed to the motorized scooter or toilet often failing and falling to the ground. He should know better, as we warned him about the dangerous of a broken hip, but his short term memory is lacking.

On seemingly good note, I try to have dinner with him at least once a week or pop by at night with a pizza to cheer him up. The dinners cost $3 to $5 for me and we get served in the �formal dining� room which my dad gets a kick out of because he wears a sports coat for the special occasion. Together, we sit in our suit coats talking about sports, the weather and stories from his childhood. Discussing current events is futile especially since he often forgets what occurred two hours previously. Tonight, I will miss this dinner due to preparation for tomorrow�s race, hence I�m feeling a little guilt ridden at the moment. Overwhelmed and stretched beyond my social capacities is wearing me down.

Besides, it's fricking nice out, 83 degrees and sunny, on Good Friday and I'm still at work. How good could this Friday be when there is fun to have outside!

Yesterday - Tomorrow

Here we go again... - 10-06-10
fuck you. - 07-02-08
A new blog - 04-13-08
New site: The Running Bob - 03-16-08
Tax Man Encourages Hobbies? - 03-11-08
,060414_98.html,How Good of Friday Can This Be?!,04-14-06>
Recent '06-'07 Entrees
July 05 to July 06