Current | Archives | Profile | | | Email | Just who the hell are you? Please sign guestbook. | Insightful Comments To Me | Host | Image | Design

5 Day Entry...I'm still a schmuck but a running schmuck.
04-19-06, 4:15 PM

Five days without an entry seems like a month...

Just finishing a phone interview two minutes ago, it was my best interview to date yet I won�t get the job but I�m okay with it. The company was ideal and the location was heaven...a New England state which was building a new ski resort�right down my alley/slope, so to speak. During the interview, the interviewer and I had much in common with previous company experiences as past employees in one instance, and personally knew the same people and project in another instance. I had the right ingredients for the wrong entree. In the end, he�s still interested but has to contemplate about changing job duties and descriptions. We�ll keep in touch over the next two to six weeks.

IN OTHER NEWS...

The girl and I ran in the National Ten Mile Championship where she did phenomenal by placing 39th in her age category, a top 11% finish! Whereas, I placed 149 out 408 within the top 36% of my age category. My overall finish was 982 out of 4914 runners which was in the top 19%. I ran the ten mile race in 1:27:19 which was within my pre-race goal of running between 8:30 and 9:00 pace mile, which I did with 8:43 minute pace mile.

The heat and humid were unusually high with a mid-70's degree temperature and 70% humidity at 8:30 a.m. At the finish line, the girl and I were in the stands watching all those behind us finishing and nearly passing-out from dehydration of exhaustion. As we sat in the stands, a tall lanky man was sitting against the fence with his mouth agape. At the time, we didn�t realize people were collapsing or just believed they were being overly dramatic, hence were humorously mocking them under our breaths. �Look at all these losers! They finished behind us so they must be losers. Is that guy dead?� We were giggling and proud of accomplishments. Nothing better then undeservingly building up one�s ego by belittling others.

Soon a paramedic saw us laughing at the guy and realizing he was out cold, he ran to his attention; placed an oxygen mask on him; inserted an I.V.; covered in cold sheets and hauled him off in ambulance.

�We�re going to hell. This is wrong of us.� We looked at each other in amazement. �Didn�t these people train? We�re they partying last night?�

Today, in the paper, it was reported the water stations ran out of water during the race.

� they�re still losers� (Build that ego and confidence up for THE MARATHON IN A WEEK AND A HALF!) I�ll probably drop dead on the course as god retaliates for my comments.

GIRL MEETS PARENTS:

Afterwards, the next day on Easter, I brought the girl to meet my parents, a huge step...in her eyes as she has not met them since I started seeing her back in October (including the break-up period). She easily impressed them and the next day I received the following comment, �Wow, Bob! I didn�t think you could find a woman like that! She�s poised, well-spoken, confident, intelligent and pretty.�

�Shouldn�t it be the other way around, Dad? How did she find someone like me?� (Well, I am a schmuck.)

Yesterday - Tomorrow

Here we go again... - 10-06-10
fuck you. - 07-02-08
A new blog - 04-13-08
New site: The Running Bob - 03-16-08
Tax Man Encourages Hobbies? - 03-11-08
,060419_8.html,5 Day Entry...I'm still a schmuck but a running schmuck.,04-19-06>
Recent '06-'07 Entrees
July 05 to July 06