Current | Archives | Profile | | | Email | Just who the hell are you? Please sign guestbook. | Insightful Comments To Me | Host | Image | Design

marthon (Part 2) -- damn long entry
05-11-06, 1:37 PM

Once we turned the corner the crowds were sparse to non-existent along this two mile stretch of Breckenridge. Luckily, we were focused and feeling great�or so I thought.

The �girl� anxiously looked at various store fronts seeking something. It was only until the port of potties came into view when she picked-up pace and had to stop. After the time passed for a quick stop with runners continuously passing us by, I thought to run without her again because I wanted to break the four hour barrier and we were on a capable pace to do so. Other runners approached and became annoyed that the blue plastic closets were occupied for inordinate long time and looked at me for help while I tried to pacify thoughts by stretching on the sidewalks. Finally, she exited! It could have only been five minutes but seemed as long as ten minutes due the nature of a race.

The seemingly quiet, old industrial buildings with shot gun homes along Breckenridge Road was not a problem as we past a water stop and turned onto to Baxter Avenue where the �girl�s� next door neighbors were bouncing and kicking like high school cheerleaders urging us onward. Soon, on the right was her boss, the Councilman, yelling encouragements once again as he first spot around mile 6 and now mile 16. Another couple of her friends were on bicycles traveling the route and I found a co-worker at one of the hilly sections prior entering into Cherokee Park, a very gradual, steep incline at mile 17.

Along this incline two cameramen were taking event photos where we mugged for them then with determination solidly ran up the � to � mile hill. Surprisingly on race day, we had no problems whatsoever with this portion of the course. As we crested the hill, the down hill portion was welcomed as we passed another runner who oddly was carrying a cell phone and accepted the phone call.

�Yes, I�m running�No, that won�t be advisable,� the fifty-ish Indian run said.

Finally, we exited the park around mile 18 and were heading back downtown! Was again though, we had a gradual incline for a mile or so before roughly five miles of flat or downhill portions.

Catching me totally off guard was my mother along the side of the road and the brown van, a very noticeable handicapped equipped van with my father inside. We ran over and waved at my dad inside and had a quick few words then were off again running. They said they were going to try to meet us at the Finish. With this encouragement, we made mince meat of the Grindstead Road and were once again surprised by her neighbor�s drinking coffee in the misty rain and bouncing up and down as we approached the Cherokee Road turn � from here on it was down hill to the 2nd Street Bridge.

The Bridge proved troublesome in the past due to my fear of bridges and the long increase in grades that span over the river nearly 100 feet or so. The course is such that your incline starts at the Ohio River level on both sides of Kentucky and Indiana. My right thigh muscle began to cramp and I knew if I stopped, starting would be difficult to impossible.

Luckily, they had a water stop in the middle of the bridge which not only provided a Gatoraded that I desperately needed but also acted as a mild mental diversion and a goal to run towards. As we approached the Indiana side of the bridge, the pace runner holding the 4:15 sign was approaching in the other direction! We cut our gap down to roughly four minutes! The 4:15 goal was potentially possible.

Across to Indiana and safely back into Kentucky, we knew there was only 1.2 miles remaining which now seems like a quick stroll, yet my calf and thigh was cramping a bit. With a few quick twitches and accompanying pain from over-striding, I had to concentrate deeply of keeping my feet under me for the last mile which was becoming a blur as tried to pick up our pace and focus.

Within the last two blocks before the final turn to the Finish, I could squarely see my dad in his motorized scooter and mom behind the chain link fence holding a couple of signs and a small megaphone the race organizers distributed. With a huge smile on my face, I ran past them and waved. Looking around, I noticed the �girl� fell behind a few steps, so I waved her forward to join me because after all the race was about finishing together.

�You know, we may be able to break four fifteen. Can you pick up your pace a bit?�
�Naw, you go ahead.�
�It�s alright. We�re doing fine together.�

With those comments, the last bit of adrenalin kicked in and our pace quickened a bit and we crossed the finish together as they announced our names over the loud speaker. Finishing at 4:18:42 is �

�My god! They announced my named correctly! My dad will be surprised too!� My last name is Italian with a bunch of alternating vowels and consonants which tongue ties everyone. Exhausted, we hugged and had an arm around each other as they put our �Finishers� medal around our necks and we headed back to my Mom and Dad who gave the �girl� a bouquet of flowers.

As we walked back to change our clothes, stretch and join the after run party to grab a beer, a participant noticed the �girl� and approached her believing she was a female participant who placed in the race.

�Do you know where the podium is located? Where is the award ceremony. You placed didn�t you?�

The men�s winner and third place female winner thought my �girl� won the race due to her flowers.

Yesterday - Tomorrow

Here we go again... - 10-06-10
fuck you. - 07-02-08
A new blog - 04-13-08
New site: The Running Bob - 03-16-08
Tax Man Encourages Hobbies? - 03-11-08
,060511_21.html,marthon (Part 2) -- damn long entry,05-11-06>
Recent '06-'07 Entrees
July 05 to July 06