Current | Archives | Profile | | | Email | Just who the hell are you? Please sign guestbook. | Insightful Comments To Me | Host | Image | Design

Grounded Another Month
07-12-06, 2:04 PM

My mom�s and dad�s wedding anniversary was yesterday and I agreed to accompany them to dinner which I knew would be a chore in itself and drain me emotionally and physically causing a mild depression to set. Sure enough, it did� I�ll stop here.

My body's internal clock is out of sync due to the winter-like gray skies but with 90 degree hot, humid temperatures. The skies tell me to wrap-up in parka but once outside the temperatures scream to get naked and grab an ice tea.

Running� I have five straight days of running ahead of me because I took the rest days back to back on Monday and Tuesday rather than on Monday and Friday. I don�t feel in marathon shape but our total weekly distances suggest otherwise -- 40 to 43 miles.

July traditionally has been a month where I�ve been pulled in every direction due to the holiday, birthdays, deaths, anniversaries and summer-time activities. My sister-in-law�s and mom�s birthday remains along with my mom�s moving day to her new townhome. At least with the move, there will be greater distance between our homes and impromptu visits and honking the horn as she passes should become infrequent. Love them but I do need distance and privacy.

At work, I heard the "Best of the Police" album. Has it been 23 years? Memories recalled Joe, John and I driving in a convertible and always, I mean, ALWAYS getting in trouble and grounded. While grounded, Joe wanted to sneek out of his house on a Friday night. I parked my car around the block and waited but he never showed. The next day I learned that he tied jeans and corduroys pants together and secured them to the bedpost. From the second story window, he descended like Batman however there was one problem -- the knotted pants kept banging against the aluminum siding causing his mother to investigate. She flew open the window and Joe was repelling down next to her.

"Can I climb back up?" He deadpanned.

"Grounded another month."

Yesterday - Tomorrow

Here we go again... - 10-06-10
fuck you. - 07-02-08
A new blog - 04-13-08
New site: The Running Bob - 03-16-08
Tax Man Encourages Hobbies? - 03-11-08
,060712_52.html,Grounded Another Month,07-12-06>
Recent '06-'07 Entrees
July 05 to July 06