Current | Archives | Profile | | | Email | Just who the hell are you? Please sign guestbook. | Insightful Comments To Me | Host | Image | Design

WHO ROCKS THE INTERVIEW? YOU ROCK...
08-08-06, 4:52 PM

Okay,it is official...I ROCK THE INTERVIEW PROCESS! Earlier in the week, I was disheartened after talking to a HR person and receiving a post card that I didn't qualify for the Level III position, however I should speak about it at the end of the interview. I did.

"Bob, could we put you on hold while we talk about something?"

"Sure."

Five minutes later.

"According to my estimates, I only see five years experience, when we need a minimum of eight."

"Well, as a Project Manager and someone who had a partner in a consulting company, I consider scoping a project, determinining goals, identifying tasks and resources whether it be contract employees or consultants, being responsible for work performed or and deadlines...surpervising experience."

"Let me put you on hold again."

Minutes pass again.

"Bob, we would like to fly you out for the Development I position to interview but also for the Development Level III position as well provided in writing, and it could be in any format you wish, what you just told me. We just need a paper copy for our files."

"Sounds fair enough to me."

So, I'm flying out west for a great job and place I would like to live...I think.

During the interview, after discussing the reason for my move to my current city in orderto attend the needs of my ailing parents, I then mentioned we, "the girl and I", planned on getting enaged in October and discussed where we would like to live and we would take the time for such a place. This particular city happened to have the characteristics we seek -- a historic downtown and promotes public transportation, cycling, outdoor activities and access to recreational lands -- as we are outdoor people.

Provided of course I receive and offer, in the end, I may have talked myself into an additional 25k dollar in salary!

Yet...I'm not nervous about the job but more nervous about the life change I'm about to undertake...

The 'girl' called and I told her of my honest, laying it all out on the table approach to the interview, and the success it received.

Yesterday - Tomorrow

Here we go again... - 10-06-10
fuck you. - 07-02-08
A new blog - 04-13-08
New site: The Running Bob - 03-16-08
Tax Man Encourages Hobbies? - 03-11-08
,060808_11.html,WHO ROCKS THE INTERVIEW? YOU ROCK...,08-08-06>
Recent '06-'07 Entrees
July 05 to July 06