Current | Archives | Profile | | | Email | Just who the hell are you? Please sign guestbook. | Insightful Comments To Me | Host | Image | Design

Alas, Good News!
08-16-06, 10:09 AM

It�s the tone of voice, threats, belittling nature these people have with no regard for the person on the other end of the phone that instantly boils my blood. Civility is dead. When and how it died, I don�t know? Is this just human nature to be a jackass? Maybe, it�s Jerry Springer�s fault.

I have much to write about but lack the time and focus and it's all good news of course!

Brief highlights:

Sold the car for $5000 which is far more than I expected! The night before I made arrangements to show the car n the morning but the "check engine" light illuminated. The next morning, I explained the situation and the guy still wanted to see it -- amazing. Feeling guilty, I offered to take it to a dealer to determine the ailment but he made an offer that enables me to pay off a credit card and buy a new pair of running shoes.

Interview in Arizona is next week and the 'girl' is coming along to view the city. We're staying in an old historic, hotel which is allegedly haunted. The place is right out of a western with the saloon operating below and the eight, spartan rooms lacking televisions, telephones and some without baths above the bar. I opted for a room with a private bath, though. The manager explained the trains are only a block away and whistles and locomotives pass every twelve minutes; there is a 2 a.m. curfew; a band/entertainment plays throughout the night; people from the bar may be talking right outside your door; a young bride and groom may appear in your room but other than that, "Do you still want the room?"

"Sounds great and just what I'm looking for!" I've always had the old cowboy days fantasy of walking into a salooon, shooting a whiskey back and bringing a girl up to the room. Time to break-out my childhood vest, badge, cap gun and tiny cowboy hat!

Yea, I'm carless at the moment and driving my mom's bright red, less than masculine, VW convertible. "Gay-boy car!" became it's nickname around the office, yet I try to counter with "It's the hometown's university's colors!" Ineffective is the plea which increases the mockery.

Lastly, we made Speck and passed on a family tradition to my nieces and nephews which was my original intention to log-on and write about but I'll save it for later and give it the due attention this event deserves.

Yesterday - Tomorrow

Here we go again... - 10-06-10
fuck you. - 07-02-08
A new blog - 04-13-08
New site: The Running Bob - 03-16-08
Tax Man Encourages Hobbies? - 03-11-08
,060816_66.html,Alas, Good News!,08-16-06>
Recent '06-'07 Entrees
July 05 to July 06