Current | Archives | Profile | | | Email | Just who the hell are you? Please sign guestbook. | Insightful Comments To Me | Host | Image | Design

Could be quite a dream and future
08-24-06, 11:55 PM

For too long it seemed as if I was clanking upwards on the first hill of a roller coaster until this last week when I crested the top and plummeted back down along the tracks only to be compressed in the first dip. This time though, the ride down was not as terrifying because someone, "the girl", was sitting next to me just as wide-eyed and screaming as we were then decompressed and hurddled into a twisting cork-screw of unknowns.

She�s the one on the right and I�m the doofus on the left who was pointing to the cowboy ghost to my right. To make a long story, a medium story, the 1850's renovated western hotel allegedly was haunted with a bride and groom who were killed on their wedding night. Guests claimed to have been startled awake to find the pair peering down upon the sleepy guests from the edge of the bed. Jokingly, I took the photo hoping that an image would appear but no luck. Instead, all I captured was this light streak in the lower right corner.


Back to the story, after receiving the call to interview, immediately I called the �girl� and asked if she wanted to come along for the trip and I would pay. I thought, �Might as well have some company and if you�re planning on getting engaged as I claimed in my phone interview, she should come along and part-take in the decision and see this part of the country.�

Arriving in Phoenix, we stopped at her cousin�s house to spend the night prior to heading north. Initially, I thought her to be around �the girl�s� age with a family. Instead, she was a 27 year old, beautiful, thin, tanned part-time yoga instructor. I admit, yes admit it � she was very, very attractive. The sex appeal makes a man think of greener pastures... but the reality that I have something good makes this attraction disappear...irrationally slow on my part, though.

Any rate, the yoga instructor cousin takes us to a wine bar where all the thin, beautiful people hang-out on a Saturday afternoon sipping huge goblets of wine and eating bistro fare. Once again, I irrationally thought I, too, was one of the beautiful people and would be attractive to all, yet, delusion glazed my eyes and swamped my brain. While the girls discussed family issues, I couldn�t help but notice how thin people were and fashionably attired. Kentucky ... if you can�t say something nice then don�t say it all.

The next morning, we hit a desert urban trail for a five or six mile hike which left us awestruck at the giant 40 foot cactus and geological formations. On our way north, we took the long scenic route through Sedona where we had lunch and sought revenge upon the cactus who pricked the �girl� on the hike. The grilled cactus probably would have tasted better if it were deep fried. I never ate cactus before and just had to try it while I was there. How often can a person say he ate cactus?

As we continued our journey, we drive through an alpine forest where we stopped to speak with the Native Americans. The �girl� bought some jewelry from an artist who passionately explained the oral history of the great flood and how a muskrat swam down to the sea bottom to grasp a clump of soil and place it upon the great turtles back which grew into North America.

A side note, the �girl� becomes emotional over beauty of nature, architecture and moments � she had a moment on top of the mountain concerning its beauty and the possible future before us. I kind of laughed at this display - it�s unsettling to a guy � women happy, yet crying. I just don�t understand it.

Finally Sunday night, we arrived in the prominent northern city where Route 66 bisects. My decision to stay in the 1850's hotel proved ideal because I wanted to impress the girl with the city�s historical and cultural aspects...and the potential to see ghosts.

In one sense, not the sixth sense, we did see ghosts. The BBC was filming a movie about the 1940's nuclear arms race and actors were dressed in period costumes. From the hotel�s third story balcony, we watched the film crew shoot at three different locations. The �girl� was impressed.

She was also impressed at how friendly the people were because she joined a few conversations, not only that night, but on other occasions at coffee houses, etc. She was stunned at the difference from her �home folk� and the western laid back approach.

(Moving along)

The next morning, we went for a jog in the pine forest where the forest smells instantly recalled memories from my days in Colorado. I was in heaven and just breathing in nature. I hadn�t been this happy in years and appreciative of my surroundings. The �girl� was struggling to breathe at 8,000 feet where as I had no problem.

The girl cried aloud. �How the hell is this so easy for you?�

About six years ago, my good friend Tonia nearly stated the same thing when we climbing nearly thirteen thousand peak. Flatly and cooly I replied, � I have a third lung.� Then proceeded to explain my genetic mutation which lead to a �normal abnormality� as the doctor called it.

(Fast forward)

Next day, we hit the library for research to prepare for my interview, then drove to the Grand Canyon to peer over the rim. The �girl�, once again, was overcome with it�s beauty and vastness but instead of crying let out a �Oh my, god!� A lot of people had the same reaction when approaching the rim. Even though I don�t speak Italian, Japanese, Spanish, French (some), Chinese, Australian, Proper English, etc.. I could tell everyone was saying the same thing. Summary: great photos to be developed and we�re kicking ourselves for not buying the digital camera in Phoenix.

(Fast forward)
Next time, we want to hike into the canyon.

Dust storm on the way back from the canyon.

(Fast forward)

Next day: Interview.

I had my game face on and walked two blocks from the hotel to City Hall staring-off people. I think they were staring because I was the only guy in the city wearing a suit outside among the hippy population milling about. My stare was of determination, not of judgement. Otherwise, I would have joined the hacky sack circle and show them how an �old guy� still has it.

The interviewer greeted me prior to being interviewed by a committee and was a gracious host thanking me for traveling and explained how impressive I was on the phone interview. He did this four times before the interview even began which made me think I already landed the job. In short, I only stumbled in one area but seemed to impress on the remaining issues.

At the end, we shook hands again and he lavished more praise while introducing me co-workers. One asked, �How did you think you did?�

� I think �okay�.�

�He did more than okay! I�m going to call you tonight after I interview this other guy. We are only interviewing two people.�

Returning to the hotel lobby, I was trying to conceal my beaming face but failed miserably. The �girl� was quite happy for me but concerned because she spoke to a Realtor while I interviewed.

�You have to change your frame of reference and realize the prices are much more expensive out here.� I later learned that she paid roughly $60K for her current house and was having sticker shock over the $385K median priced homes.

After I changed, we drove around the city seeking homes and were greatly disappointed. This move wasn�t going to happen because all we could afford were substandard dumps. I became depressed. In my past life, I would have moved on my own and worked my way up into a home again by renting a dump in the meantime and taking a second job. How could I expose the �girl� to this? Why should she sacrifice a comfortable life style for me?

Luckily, I checked my home messages and found another city wanted to interview me and this city just so happens to be her hometown city in South Carolina. �Do it! Take the interview!� She whispered while I spoke to the HR person. Internally, this is not the ideal place where I want to live but would consider it because her family lives there. �I hate humidity,� was another thought.

�Let�s go out and celebrate and not let this house situation bring us down. We may have two options on the table or we may only one or none. I don�t have an offer, yet, but let me just be happy for awhile knowing that some employer wants me.� With that, we gathered our real estate books and drank tequila at the Mexican restaurant as we poured through pages at homes we couldn�t afford.

The final morning we awoke early to just to view two more new home communities at the fringe fo the city. The first townhome community was nice but isolated. Frustrated again, my dream vanished.

We had to head home now. After filling the tank and while paying for my coffee, I asked the convenience store guy if he knew where a certain community was under construction. He did. We drove there. We liked it. We didn�t know the prices or style of homes but were encouraged with an ad which stated in the mid-200's.

By 8 o�clock a.m., we traveled back to Phoenix to catch a flight and promised each other upon our 12:30 a.m. arrival at home, we would check the internet for this community�s prices. By 1:30 a.m. we finally found a web-site that displayed the homes, floor plans and some prices � we think we could afford it!

It would be quite a dream if all this comes together.

Yesterday - Tomorrow

Here we go again... - 10-06-10
fuck you. - 07-02-08
A new blog - 04-13-08
New site: The Running Bob - 03-16-08
Tax Man Encourages Hobbies? - 03-11-08
,060824_22.html,Could be quite a dream and future,08-24-06>
Recent '06-'07 Entrees
July 05 to July 06