Current | Archives | Profile | | | Email | Just who the hell are you? Please sign guestbook. | Insightful Comments To Me | Host | Image | Design

Quality Time Until I Leave
09-28-06, 10:21 AM

One step forward, one step back. Last week's garage sale, produced a little over a grand in sales. The proceeds were to be used towards the deposit and first month rent, however car repairs on the newly purchased, used car will completely deplete this fund. I suppose the forces, do in fact, balance each other.

Of course, I was upset when the mechanic broke the news that I need new rotors, brakes and a windshield fluid water pump, however deep down I knew the brakes may have to be replaced sooner rather than later. It's just I was already applying the newly acquired funds to other areas. What to do?

Have another garage sale and sell EVERYTHING that isn't nailed down! Another advertisement in the paper and another early Saturday morning watching people pick over my belongings. The fewer thins I bring, the better. It's only stuff. Replaceable stuff.

With the house sale closing on Tuesday, I'm really going to cut it close on the drive to Flagstaff, finding a place then starting work. I may have only a day to orient myself with the city. My living arrangements most likely will be sparse for a month or so as I sleep on an air matress and have no furniture, unless I could find a furnished place. Mere details...because I have the Chicago Marathon to look forward to and a proposal.

I visited dad yesterday back at the nursing home who just seems to be getting worse by the day. He no longer can lift himself out of a chair and requires a hoist to move hime from the recliner to the wheelchair, the bed or toilette. His short-term memory is shot -- fogetting those who just handed him a card, for instance. He peforms a little mental trick of association to remember the nurses names. By recognizing their faces, he associates them to a song and serrenades them, thereby producing their names in the chorus. It is A neat little trick but then you wonder about his sanity.

The doctor declared that he is in last stages at MS and now has prescribed the last ditch effort medicine which produced some remarkable results in a very few individuals -- being able to walk again. I don't hold much hope because there seems to be so much more malfunctioning elsewhere with his body these days.

Oh well, it's time to rise and start the day at 10:39 a.m. I've been up earlier though -- I reheated slices of pizza.

After running, I planned to take the girl out to dinner after stopping by my mom's to pick up her car while mine was in the shop. Luckily for us, mom gave us a $50 gift certificate to an Italian restaurant. Oh yea! Bottle of wine, appetizers, salads, entrees and of course, a large pizza to go -- for breakfast! Now that I'm a little, just a little stuffed, it's time to dress to visit dad at the Home for nursing home sandwiches and soup. Quality time until I leave.

Yesterday - Tomorrow

Here we go again... - 10-06-10
fuck you. - 07-02-08
A new blog - 04-13-08
New site: The Running Bob - 03-16-08
Tax Man Encourages Hobbies? - 03-11-08
,060928_58.html,Quality Time Until I Leave,09-28-06>
Recent '06-'07 Entrees
July 05 to July 06