Current | Archives | Profile | | | Email | Just who the hell are you? Please sign guestbook. | Insightful Comments To Me | Host | Image | Design

Plan for what next?
10-30-06, 10:43 PM

Is it safe to say, �I�m enjoying my new circumstances?� Daylight savings began this morning which means the world seems a little more brighter earlier in the day. The literally or figuratively is left to your interpretation.

After a week-end with eight or ten mile hikes with the dogs, this morning�s little one mile walk would seem routine and uneventful, more or less a task. Off in the distance across the field, a man was running rapidly yet I lost sight of him. A few moments later, about five or six animal shadows also were high tailing it in the same direction he ran. Immediately, I recognized the forms as coyotes and turned to head home. There was no reason to quicken the pace until I saw the pack turn toward my direction, causing me to slightly jog.

Not even a few minutes later but maybe a minute or so later, the same coyote as a week ago aggressively approach the dogs and I. Unfortunately, my dogs didn�t pick up there scent and I scrambled to a rock outcropping to pick-up three or four baseball sized rocks to throw at the coyote who continued towards me unbeknownst to my dogs. I launched the first rock which harmlessly five feet in front of the pursuing coyote who seemed puzzled at my actions. He sat down wondering what to do next. Not really wanting to hit him but to give him notice of a rebuff of an attack, I threw another rock and the coyote sat unmoved, watching the boulder�s orbit and re-entry which harmlessly bounced a few yards in front of him. Our boundaries were established and we continued our dog-walk back to the house and he stood guard of his territory.

The Chicago Marathon, we finished in 4:20:43 which was 20 minutes slower than we hoped, yet the cold, blustery day added to the memories with a starting gun wind-chill in the upper twenties. The crowds were smaller than normal but they cheered just as loud and pinched down even closer on the runners. In China town, the crowds narrowed stepped onto the course that only six runners across could pass which reminded me of the final leg of the Tour de France when Armstrong rides through the cheering crowds of Paris. Unfortunately, a rare panic attack developed causing me to gasp for air as the crowds rang cow bells, patted us on the backs and reached in for �high fives�. Hamstring cramps slowed me during through miles twenty-two to twenty-four but we painfully persevered. Other mishaps were Karen twisting her ankle and having to weave in and out of slower traffic the entire race, yet we enjoyed running together. I only write about these events in order to remember but also note that we�re not satisfied with our times and now plan to run P.F. Chang�s Phoenix Marathon in January of 2007. Why not? We�re already in shape and it�s only ten or eleven weeks away!

Who knew getting married would involve so many decisions? I should have known when the jeweler had rows upon rows of different engagement rings. This should have been the sign to run. Nonetheless, I believe we�re planning on eloping in order to avoid the costs and debt of a big wedding. Another factor is that we�re much older in age and having a large party really doesn�t appeal to us.

Personally, I think the wedding ceremony should just appeal and have special meaning to us. I would rather the two of us alone travel to a beautiful place, share vows and return for a small reception than be married in a church by someone I don�t know. I would love to go to Vienna, Italy, France, Prague or a Mexican/South American ruin � someplace deemed as one of the most romantic places on earth. Even if the ceremony is held locally in Louisville to accommodate my father, I would like her boss to be the minister rather than be married in Catholic church. I�m losing or lost my Catholic identity.

So, I�m wrapping it up here � after my two glasses of wine. So after the marriage cermony, then what? What do you plan for?

Yesterday - Tomorrow

Here we go again... - 10-06-10
fuck you. - 07-02-08
A new blog - 04-13-08
New site: The Running Bob - 03-16-08
Tax Man Encourages Hobbies? - 03-11-08
,061030_59.html,Plan for what next?,10-30-06>
Recent '06-'07 Entrees
July 05 to July 06