Current | Archives | Profile | | | Email | Just who the hell are you? Please sign guestbook. | Insightful Comments To Me | Host | Image | Design

Cure Syphilis or strep throat -- the race is on!
01-11-07, 12:43 PM

Not sleeping for 36 hours caused enough alarm to visit the doctor on Monday, which was prudent move since the marathon was a week away and the girl was diagnosed with strep throat. I thought my "greatness" would cause me to be immune from such human-like fraility as god-like beings normally are, according to mythology and fairytales. After a quick swab of my throat, the bearer of bad news, the doctor, explained I had strep throat.

"How could I, Bob the Great, have strep throat? Unheard of!" Somehow, being sick is a shot to my ego or makes me feel inadequate as a person.

With drugs in hand, enough to cure Syphilis, I began my therapy with assurance from the doctor that I should be able to run the marathon this Sunday.

Parting from previous races where Karen and I ran together, I decided to race my own race and go for personal best time. Mentally, I�m prepared. Physically, my training is called into question as it was only a few months earlier I ran the Chicago Marathon and cramped near the end. Fortunate for me, may be this cursed sickness as the doctor informed me that my cholesterol pills may cause muscle fatigue and would be advised not to take them a few days prior to the race.

The extended week-end would be good for us to get away from house and bill issues. Hopefully, Karen will receive good news about a job offer which would alleviate stress and strain upon her and our relationship as well.

Soon, I imagine we will talk about wedding plans shortly and make a date commitment to wed in California�s wine country. We envisioned a small wedding with her parents, my mom as dad can�t travel, and perhaps those who could make the date. I was never one for big weddings, at least when I got �older�, however in my twenties I wanted a blow-out. More to come later on this subject.

Yesterday - Tomorrow

Here we go again... - 10-06-10
fuck you. - 07-02-08
A new blog - 04-13-08
New site: The Running Bob - 03-16-08
Tax Man Encourages Hobbies? - 03-11-08
,070111_83.html,Cure Syphilis or strep throat -- the race is on!,01-11-07>
Recent '06-'07 Entrees
July 05 to July 06