Current | Archives | Profile | | | Email | Just who the hell are you? Please sign guestbook. | Insightful Comments To Me | Host | Image | Design

Marathon and Wedding Plans
01-26-07, 3:30 AM

Due to a recent busy work and life schedule, daily entries into this journal became the first casualty in order to find some breathing room. Hence, the 3 a.m. writing session to record a few events on a sleepless night.

Approximately two weeks ago was the P.F. Chang�s Marathon where I ran a personal best in 3:55:56. My goal was a sub-four hour race to determine if I had enough drive to train to qualify for the Boston Marathon qualifying time of 3:20. Sure, running a 7:37 pace will be difficult but my plan is train at 7 minute miles which will give me plenty of cushion to succeed. Already today, I tested my ability and the goal seems attainable.

The trip down was noteworthy as a blizzard hit northern Arizona which froze our windshield fluid, causing many stops along the highway to pour the liquid, blue concoction upon the windshield to clear the ice and dirt. Often, I was sharing this liquid gold with other passing motorist in similar distress.

Setting the mood with Clarity�s Christmas gift CD of songs from the wedding, I hoped to set the mood to discuss our wedding plans. Rather than discussions of our wedding, we found ourselves recalling the songs and offering opinions as to whether or not we liked the songs. Personally, I was playing a mental game trying to determine who chose the song for the event, Clarity or her husband. I�ll never know but trying to match personalities was interesting.

Karen and I didn�t run together which provided an opportunity to concentrate solely on our race. The race advertised welcomed cool starting temperatures in the low 40's and finish time temperatures in mid 60's. Instead, Phoenix nearly had record lows with start time temperatures in the mid twenties. We were somewhat prepared by purchasing long sleeve t-shirts from Walgreen�s which we could discard during the race and disposable ponchos to wear during the hour and a half wait for the starters gun. Let me tell you, there is no insulating value to plastic! My toes were numb by day break.

I, too, probably discarded some of my running wear too early such as the t-shirt and disposable gloves as the sun seemed to briefly warm the morning frigid air but not as early as one participant who frantically withdrew from the race. As I passed him, he was in hysterics running in circles, waving his arms in the air and rubbing them while screaming, �I can�t feel my arms! I can�t feel them!� Initially, I didn�t have any sympathy and thought him to be a nutball but then began to feel, rather not feel, my useless thumbs and numb forearms. People around me did a similar personal check but didn�t freak out as they too had goals to achieve.

Once again, similar to the two previous races this year, my left hamstring began to cramp and, I mean, extreme cramps. I withdrew from the 3:50 pace group which I was desperately trying to stay ahead of but had to take time to stretch, hydrate and walk the cramp out of my system. Guzzling the Gatorade and a few Gu packets seemed to help after five minutes or so. So, for the next year, I have to find a solution to this re-occurring problem.

Wedding: due to money considerations, our plans went from eloping to a California vineyard to the Coffee house in Louisville where we had our first date. As of this morning, these plans changed as well due to money considerations and logistics. Simply, the coffee house demanded a lot and provided little. Instead, plan C will do with a small ceremony at Embassy Suites in their lobby with a small reception to follow. Certainly, not my ideal plan, but in the end it solves plenty of issues and allows my wheel-chair bound father to attend. It gives him some hope while sitting in the nursing home. Also, the hotel has all the facilities to handle a reception and our guests needs. Eliminated is the need for a limo since we�ll all the events occur at the hotel. More to come later on this subject.

The intention was to have a ceremony/location with meaning. Since plan A or B didn�t work Plan C does have a meaningful and fun aspect as we will run a Kentucky Derby � marathon the morning of the wedding day. It�s not to say we�re running nuts but a few friends run this event and it makes the wedding day a little interesting and exciting. I imagine I�ll wear tails and a top hat during the race and Karen, a veil.

So, I�m alive and well... working hard in my job, running and adjusting to new life.

Yesterday - Tomorrow

Here we go again... - 10-06-10
fuck you. - 07-02-08
A new blog - 04-13-08
New site: The Running Bob - 03-16-08
Tax Man Encourages Hobbies? - 03-11-08
,070126_8.html,Marathon and Wedding Plans,01-26-07>
Recent '06-'07 Entrees
July 05 to July 06