Current | Archives | Profile | | | Email | Just who the hell are you? Please sign guestbook. | Insightful Comments To Me | Host | Image | Design

A Good Whine Is Hardly Palletable
05-21-07, 8:57 PM

Non-stop typing until 1 a.m. until my brain couldn't function anymore, a power snooze was in need. As soon as my eye lids closed, the 4 a.m. alarm on my cell gleefully and annoyingly sounded. Deeply concerned that my work wasn't adequate, I completed the spreadsheet with "style over substance" technique that not only looked pretty but gave the appearance of 'hard work and deep thought'. Would it be enough today?

At 6 a.m., the doors opened to the grocery store where I picked-up the fruit tray, bagels and muffins for the meeting -- like I said, "style over substance". By providing a bite to eat and showing gracious hospitality, how could one become angry with the host? My plans were tacked against the wall, presentations stapled and neatly aligned perpendicular in front of each chair -- the sign of organization to those who walk into the room and seek order.

I hate the bullshit. I hate the civil language and cautious words as to not want to invoke emotions. So back handed compliments and jabs are guided with carefully chosen words whereas sometimes I just want to reach across the table and throttle the person with frankness. "Buddy, do you even know what you're doing? You call yourself a developer?" Yet, I have to be humble, calm and in control to stroke their egos and be submission as to not invoke their anger or else...they'll go over my head and to the Manager or Mayor! When this happens, I'm instantly perceived to be in the wrong and we must bend as to not to have bad publicity.

Two months ago, we provided written comments to the developer. Has he done anything? NO. Today, rather than in a narrative form, I dumbed-down my presentation and created a punch-list, a bullet point outline of the very same list presented two months ago but this time, assigned people to the tasks -- "developer responsibility".

"Wow! This is great! This helps a great deal. I like how we're working together!"

How do these people become rich? There is a mansion behind this seedy door but is it worth it to cross this threshold? Is being an ass worth it?

Any rate, I saved my butt for another for awhile or until the next the whine.

Yesterday - Tomorrow

Here we go again... - 10-06-10
fuck you. - 07-02-08
A new blog - 04-13-08
New site: The Running Bob - 03-16-08
Tax Man Encourages Hobbies? - 03-11-08
,070522_28.html,A Good Whine Is Hardly Palletable,05-21-07>
Recent '06-'07 Entrees
July 05 to July 06