Current | Archives | Profile | | | Email | Just who the hell are you? Please sign guestbook. | Insightful Comments To Me | Host | Image | Design

Marriage...is not easy for the single minded.
10-01-07, 8:22 PM

October 1st! What happened to the past month? Thirty-six days since my last post? Un-intentional, of course! Plenty occurred the last month where I thought to post entries but never got around to it but, today, here I sit typing away.

Within the last week, Fall finally hit with the cool breeze and the sun lower in the sky. Happily, for the first time in four to five years, I have no leaves to rake as I did back in Louisville which became quite a process from September to mid November. In Arizona, my yard is much smaller and maintenance free with xeri-scape landscaping. Deeply thankful.

For the first time in my life, I spoke this phrase, �I�m sorry I can�t join you, my in-laws are coming to visit over the week-end.� These words kind of took me by surprise � kind of scared at the prospects of the extended time involved with people whom I truly didn�t know, yet excited at the new relationships being built.

Her father was a former marine and a retired golf pro who is approaching 70. Her mother is very liberal much like my wife and speaks her political mind� much like my wife whereas I�m a moderate leaning liberal. So, does one have to be entertaining and accommodating? I thought so. Hence, I planned some spectacular meals, sushi and a golf outing. The meals were not a problem as I�m an accomplished, in my own mind, cook/chef but the golf round was a challenged as I didn�t belong to a country club yet wanted to impress him. Keep in mind, I haven�t golfed in nearly eight to ten years vowing never to golf again in my life and throwing out my clubs as I find the sport boring.

Was I doomed because I didn�t own any clubs? Yes, however her father worked a connection and mailed me a full set of clubs before his arrival. Sensing... no, call it intuition... I think these golf clubs was a sign that her father wanted to golf with me during his visit over Labor Day. Locally, the two of the three golf course are private and the public course not much to talk about. However, one of the private courses was ranked fifth in the state and extremely exclusive... this was my goal.

Having worked on a development case, I pulled a few strings and here is my wife and father-in-law on the course.

My first nine holes was my usual over par, 54, but on the back nine I had a few pars and birdie to have a respectable 43. I even managed to impress the in-law by out driving him and turning my game around after an eight year absence.

Sporting accomplishments seemed to be theme through September as my wife and I each placed in the summer trail running series and each won a pair of $120 trail running shoes! Leading up the final race, I was constantly calculating my opponents times and mine, thereby knowing who I had to beat at the line. At the finish, I won by seconds. Onward and upward to the next race, the Milwaukee Lakefront Marathon!

This Sunday, we�re flying to Milwaukee, a city that I haven�t visit in twenty years since college and I�m excited to see how it has changed. From the on-line photos, the downtown and lakefront seemed to have transformed into a truly beautiful city where we hope to visit the art museum, public market and, of course, a few post race bars to take in the Packer-Chicago game as well as the Cleveland Indians in the playoffs. I wonder if I�ll see the lot of Milwaukee friends who once lived in my small, Colorado ski town?

So, back in July the little wife, who was temp-ing at the local university, said they planned to offer her a full-time job come September.

�Is it writing?�

�No.�

�I think you need to keep looking for jobs as nothing is guaranteed. If you find one in the mean time, at least you have a negotiation position and can force their hand.�

Sure as shit, the Director retired and the new Director did not hire her. She is without a job and we're in an extremely tight spot financially. Needless to say, she is devastated and I�m a bit pissed but don�t show it. I keep positive... try to keep positive.

In the meantime, I�m cutting needless expenses as far as I can but how much further can I? I�ve been doing the obvious cost-saving measures since June � brown bag, limit spending to a 65 cent soda per day, make all dinners, one dinner out per two to four weeks, no air condition/heat, etc. Yesterday, I eliminated Direct tv and some cell features. Transferred our debt to zero percent cards (always a good thing to do any way). Don�t purchase on credit and pay cash. Tomorrow, I�m cutting our land line and perhaps, god forbid, the internet. I�ve also turned in our credit card points for Visa credit.

There are positives... when you�re at bottom, there is only one way up! She�s not quite seeing it this way and there is a strain on the relationship. Hopefully, the bottom is for my wife and we don�t sink any further, as I�m quite content in my job.

Marriage... is not easy for the single-minded.


Yesterday - Tomorrow

Here we go again... - 10-06-10
fuck you. - 07-02-08
A new blog - 04-13-08
New site: The Running Bob - 03-16-08
Tax Man Encourages Hobbies? - 03-11-08
,071001_58.html,Marriage...is not easy for the single minded.,10-01-07>
Recent '06-'07 Entrees
July 05 to July 06