Current | Archives | Profile | | | Email | Just who the hell are you? Please sign guestbook. | Insightful Comments To Me | Host | Image | Design

I earned it.
10-17-07, 3:17 PM

To the uninitiated, anxiety typically keeps one from falling asleep prior to a marathon, however being all carbed-up from my Italian dinner, I had no problem. The alarm sounded at 4 a.m. and I was ready for my 26.2 mile challenge as I have done so many times before. This time, however, I was seeking a particular goal of 3:40 in participation of finishing in 3:30 to qualify for Boston when I run PF Chang�s Marathon in January. Today, though was Milwaukee�s Lake Front Marathon which I began to focus my training back in April.

Immediately, I checked my cell phone for the local temperature, 74 degrees at 5 a.m. �This is not good,� I thought when I was hoping and planned for 50 degree start and 65 degree finishing temperature, instead the weatherman predicted low to mid 80's. I had doubts if I could achieve my goals as heat and humidity takes a beating on long distance runners. I feared cramping and heat exhaustion but came prepared with a water bottle, Gu and S!Caps!, electrolyte pills. I even purchased a visor to keep the sun off my face, an article of clothing for which I never worn training � experts typically tell runners not to try something new the day of the race. Hell, I could always toss it during the race as it was only $5.
Excited, I was well-prepared for this day, more so than any other marathon I ran. The Running Man cometh! (Note the television picture. I like it for some reason.)

Confident and certain in each other, we will achieve our goals.

Excitement and nervous energy filled the Hyatt�s lobby. I was quite surprised by the number of runners who were waiting for buses to deliver us to the starting line at the high school some 26.2 miles away to be exact. On cue, six o�clock sharp the buses showed on time on people filed aboard, however there didn�t seem to be enough buses. Nervousness and murmur grew among the runners, but then, an official looking person appeared with a walkie-talkie barking commands to deliver more buses. Damn, she was good! They immediately appeared and some discourteous newbies bound to the front of the line.

Arriving at the high school, we avoided the heat by stretching inside until the last moment. With five minutes remaining, we came out of the cool building to the cloudless sky and oppressive heat and humidity. At this point, Karen realizes she forgot both her visor and hat at the hotel. Surely, she couldn't survive without or the other, so I gave her my newly purchased, yet cheap visor, leaving me with my sunglasses. A last minute stop at the port-of potty then we hurriedly took our places along the starting starting line and we were off!

The first two miles, we were on pace and feeling good as the crowds were beginning to thin. After the first water stop, I lost Karen in the crowd but we knew to reach our goals, we would have to run separately. After passing the accordion player between miles three and four, I was perspiring unusually so and noted my hair was wet with sweat � not a good sign. Oh, Karen forgot her hat and sun glasses, so I gave her my $5 visor. Along the shadeless stretch and heat beginning to radiate upward from the pavement, I sought comfort from a sprinkler from a kind resident who placed it road-side. This was the first of many sprinklers which I ran through.

By mile thirteen, I checked my time and it quickly became apparent that I was off my goal pace, therefore I resorted to my secondary goal of beating 3:55. On time, I ate my Gu and popped my electrolyte pills. Whereas in the past, I would grab a cup of Gatorade and take a gulp, this race I would take perhaps two full glasses Gatorade and/or water. By the end of the race, it was three glasses of water � two to drink and one to pour over me with ice it.

Mile 20, the my legs began to cramp. In past runs, I was able to quickly stretch and run through the cramps but not this time. Miles 20 to 21 took fifteen minutes to accomplish walk-run, mostly walk. At this point, I knew there was no way I would even break my secondary goal. What time would I have? If my legs didn�t cease cramping was I looking at five hours? I might as well quit!

Mentally, I reached for a bag of training tricks � run for X minutes followed by a walk for X seconds. Watch your form. Can you slightly alter your stride? Follow this person and let him/her pull you along with an imaginary string. Disassociate the pain. Until mile 23 or 24, I was then fully able to run, rather shuffle along until the finish line which I passed at 4:14. Better than last year�s Chicago, but not my goal(s).

A volunteer approached me and called me by my first name, �Bob are you alright? Do you have a chip?� as she guided me to the person who takes off the timing chips. I noted she reached-out to touch me to guide me by the shoulder but quickly withdrew her arm after seeing how slimy I was with sweat and water.

�Ice.�
�What?�
�Ice. I need ice.� I needed to cool off immediately and felt faint.
�Ice, ice?�
�Yes, ice. No, this is my chip.� I continued to walk-on and I don�t know what became of my ice or the lady.

With the ambulance close by, I thought it best for me to stay on my feet and circle around the ambulance, just in case I fainted and needed medical assistance.

Eventually, I sat down but my continuously cramping legs caused me to lay upon my back and stretch-out, although I wanted to meet Karen at the finish as I usually do. I figured, if I didn�t meet my goal by a half-hour, then most likely, the weather is taking the same toll upon her. Minutes past where I felt faint but soon I was able to rock myself back-and-forth like a turtle to get back upon my feet. I obtained my gear from the pick-up to retrieve the camera such I could take a photo of her as she crossed.

I was too late, yet happy to see her and that she finished, as evident of the �Finishers Medal�.
�Did quitting ever enter your mind?�
�Maybe once.�

Exhausted, we shared how the weather affected us physically and how we were challenged mentally to overcome the pain and disappointed when we each realized our goals weren�t going to be met. Soon, our races were one of survival and just to finish which, actually, made our purchase of the �Finisher�s Shirt� fulfilling. We had doubts if we would want to run a marathon again or if 10ks or half-marathon should now be our focus.

Someone asked, �Why do you run a marathon?�
�Because, I can.� I replied. I know it is a bit arrogant but I earned it.

Still feeling faint and prior to changing into dry clothes, I finally found my �ice� so to speak. There was a misting tent available with an extremely cold water. I fully immersed myself.

Later in the evening, I wanted to achieve my secondary goal of eating brats and drinking beer. We celebrated by stopping at Brady�s, the longest bar east of the Mississippi! I had two brats, a pizza and many, many beers while exchanging our stories with some of the patrons. Very friendly people and damn good brats! Here, we learned that the Chicago Marathon was canceled during the race due to the heat and humidity, lack of water, a runner's death and the exorbitant amount of people collapsing. Shocked! We were shocked and perhaps it was fate that lead us to Milwaukee? Although Milwaukee was just as hot and humid as Chicago,the race seemed to go so smoothly. Maybe smaller races are better?


The next morning, we went sight-seeing again to an old, eclectic neighborhood where I happened upon an Italian delicatessen. Once stepping foot inside, I was in Italian heaven with smells I haven�t smelled since a child while living in Cleveland. What happened to these ethnic, neighborhood stores? I hope to god they never vanish! I didn�t want to leave! We bought capicolla subs and sodas and took them to the park and just extend our Milwaukee experience a little more.

And did I!


Yesterday - Tomorrow

Here we go again... - 10-06-10
fuck you. - 07-02-08
A new blog - 04-13-08
New site: The Running Bob - 03-16-08
Tax Man Encourages Hobbies? - 03-11-08
,071017_27.html,I earned it.,10-17-07>
Recent '06-'07 Entrees
July 05 to July 06