Current | Archives | Profile | | | Email | Just who the hell are you? Please sign guestbook. | Insightful Comments To Me | Host | Image | Design

Soulstice - final race of year
10-13-07, 8:55 PM

(I�m writing about these events a week later, I haven�t caught-up yet.)

A picture is worth a thousand words...so, I�ll be brief.

Six days later after the marathon, we found ourselves at the year-end, local trail running race called, Soulstice. Last year, two weeks after moving from Louisville and two weeks prior to running the Chicago Marathon, I found myself at 8,000 foot elevation running a 11.3 mile race and losing my lungs under snow and raining conditions. This year- - stunningly beautiful and crisp.

Rising at 5 a.m. the temperatures were around 38 degrees but traveling up the mountain will drop the temperatures to around freezing. Karen and I arrived 7 a.m. with just a few souls waiting for the races to begin consisting of a long course, 11.3 miles and short course of 6.5 miles. Certainly, doable distances but the terrain is challenging with rocks, continuous uphill distances (4.5 miles) and steep, single track drop-offs. Lose your footing and you'll bounce downhill until a tree catches your body.

The flags indicate the base camp where runners will start and finish the race. Clearly, we�re early.

But early enough for a short coffee line and a bagel.


Although 250 participate in the races, most of the entrants are local which makes this event so special. The competition is friendly but fierce as the local runners are quite accomplished athletes training for marathons, trail running championships, collegiate events or just more than your casual runner. Standing around the fire, people were caught in their thoughts: wishing they were still in bed; race strategy; sharing their recent race accomplishments; or, just talking about local events/politics/job searches, etc. The guy in the middle smoked the short course and set a new course record � yea, I had chance to win... at the beginning of the race, I stayed up with the guy for my first three steps and then, Whamo! He was gone!

I hadn�t run once since the Lake Front Marathon because my legs were still recovering and torn to shreds. My goal was to enjoy the race but reality set in � I�m very competitive. I tried to keep up with the leaders as I thought I could potentially be a top 10 finisher. I swear nearly the first 4 miles were all up hill and must have been a 1,000+ elevation foot gain. My heart was ready to jump out of my chest, so I had to take a quick break and walk a very short distance so I wouldn�t die on the course, yet competition pushed me upward. When I reached the mountain crest I had to make up time for my brief heart pounding walk, I resorted to my skiing abilities and let my legs loose and followed the trail�s fall-line while absorbing rocks like moguls or just leaping over others. Soon, I passed a couple of people and saw another runner whom I tried to close the gap before the finish.

I finished with heart pounding through my shirt and my lungs burning with each expansion filled breath. Even though I knew my legs were now mince meat, I felt better about my race this week then the one just six days ago.

Quickly, I went to the car to retrieve the camera to catch Karen at the finish.

Karen finished fifth in her age group as so did I. Overall, I wasn�t in the top ten but managed a 17th overall finish which I�m proud of because, my end of year goal was to have my name listed in the first column! Yea! First column! I�m moving up! Just wait to next year!

After the race, we spoke with Salomon representative and told him how we won our shoes and are now converts. WE love these shoes. To show his appreciation, we are now disciples � we got a swag t-shirt!


The girl over my shoulder, she rocks as a runner and sets a bunch of local course records. Since I can never keep-up with her, I can only speculate that she is inhuman and her don�t touch the ground.

Okay, the best part of the races are the post run beers and bagels! This race, however, the locabl bar sponsors contributes HOT DOGS! My twice a year indulgence!!

Yesterday - Tomorrow

Here we go again... - 10-06-10
fuck you. - 07-02-08
A new blog - 04-13-08
New site: The Running Bob - 03-16-08
Tax Man Encourages Hobbies? - 03-11-08
,071021_60.html,Soulstice - final race of year,10-13-07>
Recent '06-'07 Entrees
July 05 to July 06