Current | Archives | Profile | | | Email | Just who the hell are you? Please sign guestbook. | Insightful Comments To Me | Host | Image | Design

Milwaukee, It's been 20 years...my have you changed!
10-5-07, 10:10 PM

February 2007, I originally registered for the Chicago Marathon and booked my room. Unfortunately, my wife to be, concerned about money due to the upcoming nuptials failed to register in time because the race completely sold-out much earlier than expected. I always loved running in Chicago because of the crowds and great neighborhoods, however I accepted the disappointed and recalled that Milwaukee held a marathon typically weeks before Chicago�s.

A quick Google search lead me to the The Lakefront Marathon where I learned the field was limited to 2,500 entrants, much smaller than the 45,000 at Chicago, and the race was being held the same week-end as Chicago�s. Luck would have it that space was still available but the field was filling quickly. We registered, together this time � a lesson learned on my part that as a soon to be married man, I have to consider doing everything as a pair, which was a good lesson learned as I later learned the race sold-out in record breaking time � perhaps due to all those who couldn�t register for Chicago or find a fall race.

All summer we trained for the marathon and ran in local races in preparation of the marathon. Personally, I hoped to finish in 3:40 a new Personal Record (PR) and Karen was trying to qualify for Boston by running under 4:00. Also, I was just excited to see Milwaukee, a city that I have been to in over twenty years, and simply, just travel. So, to skip the long winded details, these are some of the photos of the trip.

What I like about the small, mountain city where I live, the local airport is only two minutes from our house where we jump on a small, two prop plain for a quick thirty to forty minute flight to Phoenix which would otherwise take two and half hours to drive. Luckily, the flight had no connectors and was a straight shot to Milwaukee.

By the way, our personal finances caused us to be frugal, where possible, hence we took the twenty-five minute bus from the airport where I held our large suite case on my lap because the bus quickly filled with students with the day off and others. Sure a thirty dollar cab ride would have been preferred but I enjoyed the moment with the ability to see the neighborhoods and spoke to a couple of riders, one of which a crossing-guard who also had the day off from work. Curiosity caught them, as it was somewhat rare to see a passenger with a suite case, and they inquired as to the nature of the trip. Proudly I spoke, �My wife and I traveled to run in the marathon!� as if we were world class athletes.

Excited and not wanting to waste any time, we walked about ten blocks to the marathon packet pick-up to obtain our bibs and bag of swag. The technical, long sleeve shirts were the best of any marathon that I�ve run and registration was a breeze. Soon, we were on the streets taking in cosmopolitan city of Milwaukee. This is no joke, Milwaukee has transformed into a great city with interesting architecture, clean downtown, museums, restaurants (an eaters paradise), bars, etc.

In urban planning circles, I�ve heard about the river walk and came away impressed with the connectivity, public art and attention to detail.

We begin our site-seeing along the river, where officials were able to secure public access along the riverfront to create this great public space which offers art, pocket gardens, restaurants and just an escape.

The fish art on the building lends to fun, festive atmosphere.

Whoever designed the walk paid attention to detail � the very, simple statute of a duck adds to a human interaction and simple exchange to create a moment.

Especially, as someone who designed streetscapes, I appreciate this most likely, under-appreciate, detail of the street light and attached directional signs noting the �minutes of the walk� to the point of interest.

As dusk approached and not having lunch on the plane, dinner and a beer was calling. When I lived in Colorado at ski resort where there happened to be an extra-ordinary amount of people from Milwaukee, I�ve heard stories of local bars and food. Although I wanted to imbibe, a marathon was yet to be run. Hence, many brats with secrete stadium sauce and many beers would have to wait � well, at least one beer would be okay, besides the Cleveland Indians were playing in the playoffs and what is baseball without a beer?

Wanting to get a start on sight-seeing on Saturday, we called it an early night as we had been traveling and walking for 17 hours.

Yesterday - Tomorrow

Here we go again... - 10-06-10
fuck you. - 07-02-08
A new blog - 04-13-08
New site: The Running Bob - 03-16-08
Tax Man Encourages Hobbies? - 03-11-08
,071017_64.html,Milwaukee, It's been 20 years...my have you changed!,10-5-07>
Recent '06-'07 Entrees
July 05 to July 06