Current | Archives | Profile | | | Email | Just who the hell are you? Please sign guestbook. | Insightful Comments To Me | Host | Image | Design

One Door Closes, Another Opens
09-13-05, 2:00 PM

Starting with Labor Day, with these days off, a trend developed tha I know will be to my detriment -- I don't want to go back to work. With the shorten work week, the boss away on vacation and despite my painful kidney episode with days off, my life seems calmer, dare I say, enjoyable?

Not that this is any revelation, but god do I hate my work!
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

One door closes, another one opens... a fellow Diarylander decided to stop writing in three months time. Surprisingly, this upset me in a peripheral kind of way because reading her stories became a routine in my life and something I looked forward to during coffee breaks or downtime. In reflection, although I never met her, it seems as if I'm losing a friend. Like other friendships throughout my life, together you just slowly grow apart followed with little or no contact other than a sporadic Christmas card. Such is life.

Unfortunately, the task of finding a diary to replace her diary may fall into the realm similar to "rebound dating" where I click diary after diary with like qualities but not the same content. Sure, I could 'use' another diary in the interim until I find another long-term diarist, but that wouldn't be fair to the casual diarist I�m using who becomes dependent upon my clicks showing up in her stats. Oh, the lonely life of a rebound Diarist! Soon I'll be found aimlessly clicking witty banners, only to be linked to the same diary over and over again (you know the one), the diarist whore. Meaningless, unattached reading that is un-fulfilling and leading nowhere.

Clicking on another diary in my buddy list, I found her recommending another diary to which I quickly clicked and up popped a Blogger, a diarist from the other side of the tracks, not a Diarylander. Surprisingly, her effervescent and quirky personality shone through her writing. Although her stories are nothing like my soon to be ex-diarylander buddy, I think there is potential for her to replace that time when I take a coffee break and read about people whom I don't even know and what they are doing in their lives. Now, if I can only give her the chance and see (read) beyond her Blogger cover!

(Folks, this was not to be taken literal. Tongue and cheek humor.)

Yesterday - Tomorrow

Here we go again... - 10-06-10
fuck you. - 07-02-08
A new blog - 04-13-08
New site: The Running Bob - 03-16-08
Tax Man Encourages Hobbies? - 03-11-08
,050913_62.html,One Door Closes, Another Opens,09-13-05>
Recent '06-'07 Entrees
July 05 to July 06