Current | Archives | Profile | | | Email | Just who the hell are you? Please sign guestbook. | Insightful Comments To Me | Host | Image | Design

IF only... I kept running
08-13-07, 8:29 PM

Two days later, I'm still sore from the Saturday's Half-marathon race which seemed to continuously climb for the first seven miles -- it did. I was shooting for 1:45:00 time but the hills, or side of mountain, decided my otherwise fate of 1:56:23 which is still good considering the terrain.

The first 3/4 miles was a fast pace until the uphill march began where people decided to walk with the steep climb. They dropped behind me as I continued with hope of increasing my lead on some flat portions.

Any rate, my goal time was necessary in order for me to move into the top 10 ranking for the summer running series. In the end, my desire and mental capacity was no match for the below-calf cramp with less than 3/4 miles to go. I had to stop and stretch for 10 seconds against a tree or else I couldn't continue. This was all the time the four guys and one woman needed to pass me. I struggled to the finish trying to overcome the pain, forcing my legs forward with the freight a double cramp will cause my face to impact upon the asphalt.

In the end, I finished 56 overall and 10th in my age group which may be just enough to push me from 12th to 10th overall for our local running series. However, through my calculations, I'm about .03 of a point behind a ninth place finish. If only...

Otherwise, my week-end consisted of recovering from fatigue; hitting the golf range ( something I haven't done in ten years but have to because my golf pro father-in-law is visiting in two weeks and wants to golf ...and gave me a set of nice clubs; yard work; cribbage; and, watching the meteor shower last night. Side note, since I've been ten the Perseid shower has been my yearly tradition, no matter where I live. You can always find me camping or in my backyard star gazing. Here in Northern Arizona, the sky is dark -- thanks to City Ordinances that protect lighting levels such the stars can shine.

..I'm very lucky where I live.

Oh yea, the City has just been ranked in the top ten for trail running and training -- do I know how to pick a city that matches my needs or what? Sushi, running, a university town, skiing, perfect temperature, sun shine, decent bars, history and places to see.

Yesterday - Tomorrow

Here we go again... - 10-06-10
fuck you. - 07-02-08
A new blog - 04-13-08
New site: The Running Bob - 03-16-08
Tax Man Encourages Hobbies? - 03-11-08
,070813_84.html,IF only... I kept running,08-13-07>
Recent '06-'07 Entrees
July 05 to July 06