Current | Archives | Profile | | | Email | Just who the hell are you? Please sign guestbook. | Insightful Comments To Me | Host | Image | Design

New Year's Resolutions
01-01-08, 7:50 PM

Do you have any resolutions? "They", assuming "they" are people of professional status in human behavior, say if you write down and share your resolutions, you're apt to achieve your goals.

Here it goes....I have two themes: the "professional year" where my work exudes professionalism throughout every aspect from my appearance, office, organization, thorough reports, voice, findings in fact, recommendations and follow through. Over the week-end, I already stopped by WallyMart to purchase a rug, lamps and a coffee maker as well as organizing supplies and storage containers (So-called 'milk crates; if you will--just love the ease of access and stackability) at "PaperClips" megastore. Even though it was before New Year's and my resolutions, Karen and I stopped in the office on Sunday to 'make-over' my office by: laying the rug; properly orientating the furniture for some "fung-Bobness"; and hang pictures and diplomas upon the walls. Monday's response by those co-workers who weren't smart enough to take the day off for an extended week-end were impressed and inquired, "why"? I lied and made some self-depreciating comments to deflect my true intentions: to take-over the world. Then, I proceeded to read through and organize all my case files while quietly planning my raise to greatness!

The second resolution is geared to personal physical achievements to see how far I can push my body as I realize there is so much to improve upon and I just don't like getting old. This year, I intend to run more local races and, here it goes, qualify for the Boston Marathon. Hence, I'm dubbed the year as my "The Challenging Hilly Year" -- all races have significant elevation gains and simply recognized as very difficult in the running world. Hence, I decided to run the Sedona Half-Marathon on February 3rd which means I have a lot of catching-up to do, therefore decided upon two-a-day work-outs: spin in the morning and running and weights after work throughout January (hopefully, it carries further). Also, I'm looking forward to the following:

1. Sedona 1/2 marathon (Feb 9th)
2. Whiskey Row Prescott Marathon (May 3rd)
3. San Francisco Marathon (Aug. 3rd)
4. Flagstaff Marathon (Sept. 27) or a flat one if I think I'm in good enough shape to qualify for Boston which is the goal. The San Fran Marathon will be the determining race.
5. Flagstaff Mountain Series: 3-10k's , 9 miler and a 1/2 marathon held on Saturdays throughout the summer

Minor goals:

1. Start a once a month social cooking/dinner group with friends -- for those who truly love to cook
2. By a laptop for Karen
3. Set-up my 'man cave' which is why number two above is important
4. Set-up Karen's 'quiet room/studio'
5. Pay down debt - should be a major goal, though. 5. Visit sister and family in San Jose

Yesterday - Tomorrow

Here we go again... - 10-06-10
fuck you. - 07-02-08
A new blog - 04-13-08
New site: The Running Bob - 03-16-08
Tax Man Encourages Hobbies? - 03-11-08
,080101_42.html,New Year's Resolutions,01-01-08>
Recent '06-'07 Entrees
July 05 to July 06