Current | Archives | Profile | | | Email | Just who the hell are you? Please sign guestbook. | Insightful Comments To Me | Host | Image | Design

Interview Monday - Family oriented town
12-06-05, 3:32 PM

Yesterday, I took the day off to interview and left feeling as if it went well. The next step was to scout the city, Elizabethtown. Yes, the very same city where the movie was filmed and I�ve yet to see.

From my vantage point, not cropped by a film editor, the city seemed somewhat disjointed, blighted and lacked vibrancy due to development of fast food chain restaurants, strip malls and some vacant storefronts located along the historic main street. The �downtown� area, although colorfully painted, lack any true shopping or even vegetation along the sidewalks, with the exception of browned weeds growing between the cracks, that would cause motorist to stop, exit their cars and explore the town. Now, I�m saying that every storefront was vacant but with a TLC care beyond a store owner�s front door by adding landscape or a few potted plants or even a bench, the city could create a nice charm.

Immediately after the interview, I drove to the Visitor Center to gain a local�s personal perspective of the area. After all, the Visitor�s Center is there to promote the tourist attractions and provide information.

�I�m considering moving here. Could you tell me what single people do for fun?�

�I don�t know. I�m married.� The woman about twelve years younger than me flatly stated.

�Are there bars? Movies. Music?�

�Well, we have a movie theater.�

While driving around the area, I saw the 1930�s looking Movie Theater with two dated movies playing.

��And there are some plays that come to town. As for bars, I don�t know because we are a �moist county�.

�What does that mean, �moist county�?�

�You can�t purchase packaged liquor or beer from stores. You have to drive across the county line and bring it back. But, restaurants have recently been allowed to sell beer and wine by the glass which is why Red Lobster opened a restaurant here.�

�Oh great, big night out at the Lobster!� I thought as Kevin Bacon strolled by wanting to dance but couldn't because he is prohibited by city laws enforced by his girlfriend's minister father. �Whooping and hollering for all you can eat fried shrimp! This is the big time!� What actually followed out of my mouth though, �That explains it. (Lack of young people and all the old bad drivers who could barely see over their pick-up truck steering wheels.) Are there any outdoor activities? I do like to run and be on trails.�

�There is the Lake at the Center of the Town that has a five mile trail surrounding it. In the summer is great and beautiful because the vegetation covers the view from the road and makes it secluded.�

�Well, if you were single and to move here, where would you live?�

�I�m married so I don�t know. But don�t live in this city, XYZ.�

�Why?�

�When you drive through, you will know.�

So, when someone tells me not to do something, I do it so that I could pass my own judgment. Soon, I drove through XYZ town, which I didn�t seem to mind, because it was smaller yet also blighted. Maybe, due to the smaller geographical area, there was less overall blight as opposed to Elizabethtown.

One store that I nearly passed but didn�t was an Army�s gear outfitters store/manufacturer � a place where you could outfit your renegade army unit. I found a great deal of 100% polyproprene jacket for running. What caught my eye was the ghillie suit identical to the few purchased at Meijer�s on Sunday for $40. Here, at the official Army Supply store, it was $160.00. Christmas shopping winner! Bargain of the year! With the exception of paintball, I�m not quite sure how this is a bargain because how often could I wear it? Maybe, I could wear it to a wedding? Now, wouldn�t that make for an interesting wedding photo? May I introduce Cousin It? Or the Swamp Thing?

A cute girl was behind the counter so I asked, �There may seem awkward but I interviewed for a job and was considering moving here. What do single people do for fun around town?�

�Well�� She giggled a bit. �Most of us go to Louisville for fun. I moved here from Washington D.C. to raise my child. I do like the slow pace. Much slower pace and it is good for my child. But if you want any fun, you have to drive to Louisville.�

So, I�ll sit back and wait for the offer, if any. Otherwise, I�ll ponder to answer comes forth to the following philosophical questions to which is more important in my life: A job or lifestyle? Job or relationships? Job or finding an area where I really want to live? What are the tradeoffs and benefits to each?

Yesterday - Tomorrow

Here we go again... - 10-06-10
fuck you. - 07-02-08
A new blog - 04-13-08
New site: The Running Bob - 03-16-08
Tax Man Encourages Hobbies? - 03-11-08
,051206_46.html,Interview Monday - Family oriented town,12-06-05>
Recent '06-'07 Entrees
July 05 to July 06