Current | Archives | Profile | | | Email | Just who the hell are you? Please sign guestbook. | Insightful Comments To Me | Host | Image | Design

Ambition: the inverse relationship
02-24-06, 5:57 AM

Ambition,in general, I think there is a bell-curve relationship to age which peaks in your your mid to early thirties but then falls off a cliff around, well, my age. Perhaps I can hire the retired Greenspan to manage my ambition control and policy?

Finally, yes finally, and I can't believe that I am writing this: I actually worked my ass off yesterday for the entire day and I was quite happy about it. Let's see, that makes one complet 8 hour work day out of 14 months at this job. Typically, I can accomplish my work in less than an hour and surf the net for the remaining seven hours. At our joint department meeting, people are amazed at all the projects that I'm working upon and think I'm swamped. After hearing what they're doing, I'm dumbfounded if they do any work at all? Same projects with same excuses. Believe me, when I say one hour of work, I mean one hour of work. For most in my office, their work day is considered a social time outside of their home. I'm looking forward to moving on.

This morning I woke with regret that I skipped my run last night. Having to watch my father during the night provided an excuse but not a reason for not running. I hope to walk around downtown during my lunch hour to compensate a little.

I have a short four mile race on Saturday morning. After the race, with the girl, we're going to run across the bridge to Indiana in preparation for the marathon. Some course design genius decided that two extra hills (bridge approach and bridge) at miles 23/24 when your legs pain-filled with lactic acid would be a great idea to attract other runners because they could run on Kentucky and Indiana on the same day. There is nothing to see in Indiana, and not much on this side either for that matter. A cold, blustery wind usually shoots across the river too.

Any rate, afterwards I'm heading to her house for breakfast...keep it platonic.

Suppose it is time to go to work...or socialize. I almost feel guilty for getting a pay check. Almost guilty, but not insanely guilty where I would quit.

Yesterday - Tomorrow

Here we go again... - 10-06-10
fuck you. - 07-02-08
A new blog - 04-13-08
New site: The Running Bob - 03-16-08
Tax Man Encourages Hobbies? - 03-11-08
,060224_59.html,Ambition: the inverse relationship,02-24-06>
Recent '06-'07 Entrees
July 05 to July 06