Current | Archives | Profile | | | Email | Just who the hell are you? Please sign guestbook. | Insightful Comments To Me | Host | Image | Design

Full-filling week-end
07-31-06, 2:09 PM

Friday, we saw the �Complete Works of William Shakespeare (Abridge),� a comedy play performed in 97 minutes. For twelve bucks each, three �kids�, rather three guys in their early twenties, appeared to be having a blast in a Second City like performance to a crowd of seventy or so people in the museum�s converted industrial loft space. Although I can�t project the actors will become famous, wealthy or financially comfortable, they sure did love what they did! I questioned if I took the safe career route or would have preferred to have studied something else?

Saturday, we rose to visit the urban Farmer�s market where plenty of fresh fruit, vegetables and flowers were sold in impromptu stands. The air filled with something cooking which I quickly deciphered as tomatoes, Bermuda onions, peppers and grease, an odor very similar to that of Speck, and Hungarian treat that I hope to write about in the near future. I later learned the stand prepared catfish omelets along with very same ingredients. If there is a Farmers Market there were bound to be woman in long skirts, pony tails and guitarists playing folk music. We were waiting for drum circle to break-out of thin air but than again, it was an early Saturday morning.

Afterwards, we shopped for gifts for my mom�s birthday but what do you give a woman who really has everything? There was no way she would have this�a kitchen drain stop with an enamel glazed cow on the plunger and heart shaped cut-outs for the water to drain through. Well, after my gift, she truly has everything!

Saturday night, the �girl� came down with a migraine and decided to stay home than come out to dinner with the family. Just as well, as we ate a barbecue place with over-sized greasy portions. Due to our 18 mile run on Sunday, I stayed with the full head of lettuce Caesar salad.

Sunday morning at 5 a.m. we hit the pavement for an 18 mile jaunt, 8 laps around the park and parking lot in 75% humidity and mid-eighty degrees. By lap two, it looked as if we jumped in a pool and was soaking, dripping wet with sweat. By lap six, my shoes filled with sweat were making sloshing sounds. By lap 8, or mile 18, I peeled off my shirt and wrung it out producing about 8 oz of sweat streaming to the asphalt. I thought my heart was going to explode and had to rest on the ground with my legs resting upon the car. At least I felt a sense of accomplishment! Sick as I am, I�m looking forward to next week�s twenty mile run.

While the �girl� showered, I made her favorite whole wheat pancakes with cinnamon, nutmeg and ginger pancakes in addition to turkey sausage. After a quick shower, we ate in bed, read the paper and listened to the political commentary about Israel. Later in the afternoon, we visited my mom and swam in her community�s new pool complete with arching water features the width of the pool.

Yesterday - Tomorrow

Here we go again... - 10-06-10
fuck you. - 07-02-08
A new blog - 04-13-08
New site: The Running Bob - 03-16-08
Tax Man Encourages Hobbies? - 03-11-08
,060731_81.html,Full-filling week-end,07-31-06>
Recent '06-'07 Entrees
July 05 to July 06