Current | Archives | Profile | | | Email | Just who the hell are you? Please sign guestbook. | Insightful Comments To Me | Host | Image | Design

Someday is today.
10-25-06, 11:49 PM

"Someday is today." I whispered in her ear.

"What?"

"Will you marry me?"

Surprised and tearing, "What?"

"Will you marry me?" I continued to hold her looking into her eyes as make-up began to run.

"Yes! Yes." She shook, looking downward and began to hug me which was followed by a kiss.

The teenage girls gathered in a small group along the other side of glass wall which separated the cool, breezy, outdoor observation deck where we stood from the warm interior. Out the corner of my eye, they stood pressed against the window, intently whispering, watching Karen's reaction and response for cues as how to react when their special day arrives.

"Would you like your ring?"

"You have a ring?" Later I learned, she was surprised and thought the proposal was a spur of the moment request. Prior to our trip, she fantasized about me proposing to her at the very same place. However, she thought her fantasy was just that...a fantasy. With all that was occurring the past months with interviewing, packing, moving, selling homes and emergency room visits when would there be time for me to shop for ring or plan such an event?

"Yes, I've been waiting for this day for years." Then, dropped to one knee and produced the rings. She shook as I placed the ring on her finger.

"Someday is today."

Earlier in the evening during dinner, I was pulling her chain about her moving to Flagstaff with me and not having a job nor the time to find one immediately. This irked her into a terse response, "I haven't said anything in awhile but I'm giving-up a job, selling my house and moving to a new place where none of my friends live and we haven't talked about an engagement or our future."

My usual reply was the following: "I said, 'I'm working on it.' Could we not go into this now? Can't we enjoy the evening and dinner? Someday, we'll talk about it."

"I didn't sign-up for someday!"

I thought about producing the ring just then as the sushi was being served but decided to stay with my plan of suggesting of a walk back to the hotel and going to the John Hancock building�s observation deck to view the lights � the very same place of our first romantic date. Immediately, my prepared speech was out the window with her tirade of 'someday'. Immediately, a new to the point proposal captured it all -- "Someday is today." It was not only perfect for her but for me as well. It captured the evening, our dating and our lives which lead to this moment.

She said, "Yes."

Yesterday - Tomorrow

Here we go again... - 10-06-10
fuck you. - 07-02-08
A new blog - 04-13-08
New site: The Running Bob - 03-16-08
Tax Man Encourages Hobbies? - 03-11-08
,061026_95.html,Someday is today.,10-25-06>
Recent '06-'07 Entrees
July 05 to July 06