Current | Archives | Profile | | | Email | Just who the hell are you? Please sign guestbook. | Insightful Comments To Me | Host | Image | Design

A great day! Just watch Milo in the snow!
01-12-07, 4:44 PM

With our first winter snow storm, Milo, my dog excitedly greeted the drift by driving his head into a backyard snow drift discovering his one of his prized soup bones and flinging it into the air. Jumping and twisting his body in the air then pouncing on the bone, easily leads me to believe dogs in fact have emotions. The other two girl dogs pawed at the door to be immediately let back into the home as clearly they didn�t possess the same joy as Milo�s spread-eagle body sprawled across the snow while gnawing on the bone and collecting a layer of snow upon his thick, winter fur coat. Milo surely is a mountain dog, perhaps recalling his days in Colorado through this snow storm.

Sadly, I will miss-out on walking the dogs through the snow drifts as I head to Phoenix to run a marathon this week-end. The expected race temperatures will be between 32 and 41 degrees � once again, cool but not my ideal 50 degree day.

What to wear? What to wear? Dress in long sleeves and the sun may bake me. What to wear? Not dress warm enough and I may cramp towards the end like Chicago. What to wear?

Otherwise, things are looking-up! Literally. I have a severe stiff neck from sleeping in bed too long due to strep throat. I think the drugs are kicking-in because I can now eat solid foods once again without choking. A big plus, especially with all the delicious spaghetti and meatballs I get to eat prior to the race! I only run such that I could eat more and more and not gain weight.

Just think, two years ago I began this journey to get back into shape-- marathon condition! This will be my third marathon in a year and I lost 43 pounds with maybe another 10 to go to be equivalent to the shape when I was 27. I�m back down to a 30 inch waist and on the cusp of 29. I think I�m in better condition now, though with a leaner, stronger body. Thank god for the red hair, hot chick blowing by me in the park. What motivation she was during my first, gasping lap, nearly two years ago.

So, off to the Phoenix P.F, Chang�s marathon to kick some ass�well, my ass�for a personal best!

Yesterday - Tomorrow

Here we go again... - 10-06-10
fuck you. - 07-02-08
A new blog - 04-13-08
New site: The Running Bob - 03-16-08
Tax Man Encourages Hobbies? - 03-11-08
,070112_50.html,A great day! Just watch Milo in the snow!,01-12-07>
Recent '06-'07 Entrees
July 05 to July 06