Current | Archives | Profile | | | Email | Just who the hell are you? Please sign guestbook. | Insightful Comments To Me | Host | Image | Design

Potential Wedding Disaster.
04-19-07, 3:47 AM

Down in my heart, I knew I should have applied for an 'expedited service' when applying for my passport, but I believed the woman who said, " You're leaving in twelve weeks and it only takes eight weeks to process. You'll have plenty of time."

Well, it is eleven weeks now and I'm the classic WOP, although I'm Italian, I'm not using the term in a derogatory sense. I'm Without Passport (WOP).

As you know the honeymoon is dependent upon my ability to board the cruise ship. Hence, I've been trying to research the status of my passport through the U.S. Government's website which provided some sense of relief by stating the new initiative to require all persons to carry a passport has been temporarily lifted for those traveling by cruise ship to the Western Hemisphere, the Caribbean. However, the site and the pre-recorded message didn't explain the acceptable, alternative forms of documentation. Does a Driver's license suffice? I read on another site that proof of citizenship would be required. So, do I need a birth certificate? If so, this is a problem because the passport application required my birth certificate. Hence, I don't have passport, nor a birth certificate. Yes, I'm my honeymoon is in less than a week and the ship, along with Karen, may be sailing without me.

According to a birth certificate acquisition service website, most states can deliver a birth certificate in 2 to 5 business days, yet anexpedited service takes 3 to 5 WEEKS in Ohio to obtain a copy. However there may be a loop-hole, if I travel to Columbus, Ohio, the capital, I could obtain a copy in one day. I have my doubts, but this could be the only solution, as Columbus is only 4 hours from Louisville which means, after traveling by air all day on Wednesday from Flagstaff to Louisville; then, running our pre-wedding errands such as obtaining a marriage license and meet with the hotel banquet folks, my parents, photographer, D.J., etc., I would then have to cancel a bachelor party in order to leave at 4 a.m., Friday morning to drive four to Columbus and back, then meet the priest and guests for the rehearsal. Does Columbus actually have a copy of my certificate?

This morning, I awoke at 3:30 a.m. to call the east coast U.S. Passport department because my previous attempts had me disconnected on numerous ocassions. After a half hour on hold, finally a person! He took some contact information but could not offer any indication what my passport status is, only that some person from San Francisco may be calling in two days-- Monday at the latest. My flight leaves on Wednesday morning.

I think I know what my wedding disaster may be.

Nervous? THIS SUCKS!

Yesterday - Tomorrow

Here we go again... - 10-06-10
fuck you. - 07-02-08
A new blog - 04-13-08
New site: The Running Bob - 03-16-08
Tax Man Encourages Hobbies? - 03-11-08
,070419_74.html,Potential Wedding Disaster.,04-19-07>
Recent '06-'07 Entrees
July 05 to July 06